We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in York
Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The travelodge is in a great location - just over the bridge at Micklegate.

Reception was clean and bright. Biggest problem was with the room - we booked for 2 adults and 2 children but when we checked in there were no beds etc for the children. They offered us another room above it as there was one sofa bed made up in this room and they would only need to make up one, but when we went to it the room was very tired looking with brown paint marks all over the window and frame - so we went back to the original room and asked them to sort the beds in there.

The rooms are very small - with the pull out childrens beds there was no room at all to walk around in the room, but we could slide it under the sofa during the day.

There is no storage at all - which made it difficult for us as a family of 4 for a few days - just 2 very small bedside shelves and some hangers on a coat rail. No where to store overnight bags.

The room was very hot and the air con did not work. Also, the bottom of the towel rail had come away from the wall.

That all said, the staff were generally helpful and friendly and the location was brilliant.

The breakfasts were good value-kids eat free-no serviettes any day we were there, they had run out ! But you don't eat those :)

Next door was a lovely Italian restaurant with great value food and very family friendly if you are looking for anywhere to eat.

We travelled by train - and its just a 5 minute walk from the station, 5 minutes walk from the city walls (lovely walk) and 3 minutes from the town - so great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank IsleofManClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    361
    262
    116
    112
See reviews for
291
423
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great value for money - excellent location. Close to all of the historic sights with fabulous bars and restaurants within a minutes walk both ways (and very late night chip shop) but not noisy. You can easily walk from the train station - around 5 mins (if you don't stop for a refreshment enroute ;-).

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Really really poor service. Slow and troublesome check in, unprofessional and impolite. When told about the broken air conditioning leaking all over our carpets they could not have cared less told us there was nothing they could do and to go away they were busy. Never been treated so poorly in a hotel before. No need for rudeness whatsoever. Would not stay here and would never ever recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Ayrshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Travelled to York and stayed at Travel Lodge, Mickelgate. Close to everything we wanted to see in York and easily within walking distance from most main attractions including the train station. Our room was clean, comfortable and very pleasant. Staff were helpful and attentive and the hotel's facilities were immaculate. Not a great view from our room but then who goes to York to look at the views from a hotel window. Some noise from the street at night but again this is a busy city centre so not a problem. Overall we had a lovely visit to York made even better by our choice of hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank craigwallace100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms themselves are OK. My door wouldn't open but the staff tried their best.

It is what it is. 3*, and not a bit more. Why such a poor selection of beers? Room ok, tv OK, shower OK. Boring Travelodge. Hardly surprising.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Localfarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Basic room is an understatement. Unhelpful staff, uncomfortable beds, no where to do your hair and makeup. No early check in or £10 charge, not very clean, poor facilities - need I go on - Very disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here spend your money somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Cheap, clean hotel, in walking distance from railway station ,roughly ten minutes . Stayed here for one night whilst visiting for york races . Hotel clean and comfortable . Bar prices very good for a hotel , suppose they have to compete with the huge choice of pubs in york . Breakfast ok although couldn't really face it because of the hangover .Room decent size , kettle tea coffee etc . Hotel a little noisy in the morning ( somebody excitedly shouting sounded rather like an oompah loompah ) half past five is a wee bit early to be trying to get everybody up mate . We walked in to racecourse only takes about 20 mins .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatsappenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 45 in York
1,821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 45 in York
1,598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing