We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the travel lodge on a hen do booked through a company. Great location and the rooms were ready and clean. As its's central it was quite noisy at night. When we returned at 1am it was like the middle of the day it was so busy! Great for what we wanted though!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is a 15 min walk into the old town of York, there are a lot of attractions to visit, I'd recommend going on a ghost tour at night, very family friendly.
York has a lot of great history to be explored.
The only negative in regards to this hotel is the parking, its first in first served, if you miss out there's only payed street parking and trust me its not cheap.

Room Tip: The biggest tip I could give you in regards to this hotel is arrive on check out time and secure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingAussie0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The travelodge is in a great location - just over the bridge at Micklegate.

Reception was clean and bright. Biggest problem was with the room - we booked for 2 adults and 2 children but when we checked in there were no beds etc for the children. They offered us another room above it as there was one sofa bed made up in this room and they would only need to make up one, but when we went to it the room was very tired looking with brown paint marks all over the window and frame - so we went back to the original room and asked them to sort the beds in there.

The rooms are very small - with the pull out childrens beds there was no room at all to walk around in the room, but we could slide it under the sofa during the day.

There is no storage at all - which made it difficult for us as a family of 4 for a few days - just 2 very small bedside shelves and some hangers on a coat rail. No where to store overnight bags.

The room was very hot and the air con did not work. Also, the bottom of the towel rail had come away from the wall.

That all said, the staff were generally helpful and friendly and the location was brilliant.

The breakfasts were good value-kids eat free-no serviettes any day we were there, they had run out ! But you don't eat those :)

Next door was a lovely Italian restaurant with great value food and very family friendly if you are looking for anywhere to eat.

We travelled by train - and its just a 5 minute walk from the station, 5 minutes walk from the city walls (lovely walk) and 3 minutes from the town - so great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank IsleofManClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great value for money - excellent location. Close to all of the historic sights with fabulous bars and restaurants within a minutes walk both ways (and very late night chip shop) but not noisy. You can easily walk from the train station - around 5 mins (if you don't stop for a refreshment enroute ;-).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Really really poor service. Slow and troublesome check in, unprofessional and impolite. When told about the broken air conditioning leaking all over our carpets they could not have cared less told us there was nothing they could do and to go away they were busy. Never been treated so poorly in a hotel before. No need for rudeness whatsoever. Would not stay here and would never ever recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Travelled to York and stayed at Travel Lodge, Mickelgate. Close to everything we wanted to see in York and easily within walking distance from most main attractions including the train station. Our room was clean, comfortable and very pleasant. Staff were helpful and attentive and the hotel's facilities were immaculate. Not a great view from our room but then who goes to York to look at the views from a hotel window. Some noise from the street at night but again this is a busy city centre so not a problem. Overall we had a lovely visit to York made even better by our choice of hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank craigwallace100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms themselves are OK. My door wouldn't open but the staff tried their best.

It is what it is. 3*, and not a bit more. Why such a poor selection of beers? Room ok, tv OK, shower OK. Boring Travelodge. Hardly surprising.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Localfarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central Layerthorpe
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#40 of 47 in York
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#28 of 47 in York
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £41 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing