We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dissapointment, but adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived via the train, and when you walk down the street, you see a sign for the hotel, and then doors on the corner boarded up. Keep going, the hotel entrance is half way around the corner and half way down the street. It is a very tired, and simple hotel. We arrived before the 3:00 check in time, and to get a early check in we had to pay an extra 10.pounds. They do not have a room to leave luggage. The room was very simple. There was a pull out couch that had a red cover that gross looking. The bed scarf was filthy. The bathroom counters were all streaked, and not properly cleaned. The shower had black stuff in the cracks. (possible mold, but the room did not smell). The shower floor and the bathroom floor looked like it was made of floor vinyl. The section of the two floor had separated, but while we were there, a piece of metal and some calking were installed, and it fixed the problem. We were told the hotel just went under renovations, but I hate to see what it was like before these renovations in our room The beds were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good, and well maintained and cleaned. I think they are trying to bring this hotel back. We stayed 5 nights. Very close to everything. It was quiet. I recommend you stay if you like the basics. The air conditioners were being removed the week after we left. You will need them if you don't like the heat. You can open the windows. Take soap, they only gave us a second shampoo after 4 days.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back. The local bar puts its recycle glass out between 10:30 pm and 11:00pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from our annual short break to York. We always stay at this travelodge because it is close to the station and an easy walk into the centre of York. Since we were there last year there have been some changes. The good ones include refurbished rooms with new beds and bedding and the provision of wall mounted soap dispensers by the sink and shower gel dispensers on the shower wall. The not so good is that they will be removing the aircon and replacing them with a small desk fan in the summer and a portable heater in the winter!! This must be a cost cutting exercise but I'm sure will contribute to guest discomfort in the future. They also allow dogs to stay in the rooms at a cost of £20 but I am not sure if they have specific rooms for dogs or whether they will allow them to stay in all rooms. For those of you who are travelling to York by train and who might want to use the left luggage facility, it is no longer on the station platform, it is now located at the bottom left of the station carpark at the Eurohire office which is through a small gate at the top end. If you turn right as you exit the station you will see the car park and the Eurohire sign. This facility is useful if you arrive early and don't want to pay for an early check in at the travelodge, or as we did, use it on our last day to store our suitcase so we could have some extra time to explore York before we headed home.

Despite the loss of the aircon we will be back to stay at the travelodge next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlwaysSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great location and that's why we return to this one. £48 for a Sunday night room only, which was fine. We couldn't get into the first room (332) for a few minutes and when we did, the air con wasn't working. It was a very sunny June day. As the window only opened 3", we knew it would be too hot to bear.

So, we went back to reception and changed rooms. No fuss, polite guy on reception. The next room (227) must have been a twin before the double it is now because neither of us could reach the bedside tables from the bed! But the air con worked beautifully (phew!) the room is directly opposite 'Popworld' bar, which is late night, so opening a window wouldn't be an option although we heard nothing with the double windows closed.

The bed is spine-hurtingly hard. Crikey, we both ached the next morning.

Only had two bath sheets and one hand towel between us, which we used as a floor mat (none supplied). Neither of us wanted to go to reception again so we managed but felt it was a bit mean.

We will return as long as the price is right because the location is excellent for visiting the city. It's close enough to the city to pop back for a rest after an afternoon shopping and sightseeing before going out again in the evening.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jemimalollipop8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location if you are visiting York for a night out and a look round the shops as it is central to all the pubs and clubs and a 2 minute walk from the main high street. It is a bit pricey on the weekend but i would say it is worth it for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Its a Travelodge and you get what you pay for, but in this case the location makes up for the poor nights sleep and bare rooms. Just a pity there is a Yate's and Spoons near by as this attracts the rather loud Hen and Stag parties to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Martin2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Paid £29 for a Sunday night which was cracking value for 2 people! Very good central location so its good for tourist attractions ie York Dungeon, Shambles, York Minster.

Friendly staff and clean interior. Room very cosy and not cramped.

Recommend to all travellers!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayc362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked a list minute stay monday, although man on reception was pleasant he was clueless even basics of my name and address seemed to difficult to get right.
Moving on to the room refurbished but not clean, remote control dirty, hairs on sofa bed, an item not removed from previous guest, no soap in dispensers although these are present but are not due to be filled until tuesday.
Air con did not work this was something else in the room which is redundant and due to be removed however this did leak onto the floor.
The bed was also noisey and uncomfortable, yes this was one of the new flagship beds.
The final insult was my wife had to go to reception for our daughters bedding to make up the sofa bed.
Should have stuck with premier inn you live and learn.
The only positive was a free breakfast and leaving.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23deanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are truly sorry to learn of your disappointment 23deanc. We would expect our staff members to be polite, maintain a high level of professionalism, and be helpful at all times. Furthermore, we require our staff to follow a strict routine in the cleaning of our rooms and we would expect them to be cleaned to our high standards. We also regularly check the mattresses and, if one is not found to be in a suitable condition then it should be replaced. We’d like to apologise for the inconvenience caused and we’ll ensure our hotel staff are made aware of the feedback you have left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central Layerthorpe
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#40 of 47 in York
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#29 of 47 in York
1,724 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge York Hull Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £45 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing