We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Amazing value for money. Rooms have been refurbished to a high standard,and the bathroom also is now a wet room with a fantastic shower and facilities. Only drawback is the noise from the street on a night. But to be honest they warn you about as it is right in the centre. Hardly bothered us really as we were so tired we all slept well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank mucker1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Giving this hotel an average rating only because the twin beds my sister and I slept in were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. There was only one chair in the room and no place to put our suitcases. They had to go on the floor. The view consisted of 3/4 of a red brick wall, which didn't matter a lot, but just the same ... The heat was unbearable and we couldn't open the window beyond a crack to get some relief during the cooler night time hours. On a good note, it was a central location, easy to walk everywhere and to access the wall. We stayed there to save money for our next destination, which was London. Recommend it only if a good bed is desired and nothing else matters beyond saving some money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

firstly make sure you do not get put in room 229 or 227 as there is a night club directly opposite, the overall temperature in the hotel is unbearable and you cannot leave the window open due to the noise ouside, the food on offer at breakfast is very limited, fire doors are left ajar in the corridoors. it may look it but his was not value for money. go to Premier inn

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank rippedoff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned from a 1 night stay at this hotel, was a little apprehensive following all the negative feed back written about this facility, however I found it superb, location, you couldn't ask for better, friendly staff and the room was spotless, yes it was hot, but it's mid summer and the room had the afternoon sun on it, I would never expect AC at a travel lodge, so just put up with the heat, the bed was really comfortable and I like the new fresh look.

In conclusion fantastic value for money, great location, perfect for what I needed, will defiantly stay again

Chris

Room Tip: We had room 109 on the front of the hotel when the window was open it was noisy as it on a busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

having booked a family room for an overnight stay in york we were kept awake till 3am by the noise of the people visiting a bar called pop world which was directly opp the hotel we had to leave the windows open as there was no air conditioning on a very warm summer evening. If we were there on a hen or stag do it would have been ok but as previously mentioned we booked a family room and were not told of any problems we may incur. When we checked out i told the receptionist how unhappy we were and she laughed when she saw which room we had been staying in !!!!!!!!No more travelodges its premier inns all the way now !!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I used to like Travelodges...they were cheap but simple with comfortable beds and clean rooms. The bed was brilliant in the refurbished room. Unfortunately, when the room is way too hot to sleep, it doesn't really matter how good it is. We booked the hotel a fair time in advance and the mention of air conditioning was a plus. As they decided to do away with it and rely on windows that only open a couple of inches, the room was boiling. It wasn't even that hot outside but it is impossible to cool the room down and the corridors were even hotter.
Considering the room had only just been refurbished it was pretty unclean. Toothpaste around the sink and carpet hadn't been hoovered. When we dropped something behind the bed and looked down there were tissues, straws and a coffee cup lid from previous occupants...plus weeks or months of dust. Why bother investing in the rooms if basic housekeeping isn't done?

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank kmkuwap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a brilliant time here. This Travelodge is in the prime location for anyone wanting to be in the heart of everything...No good if you want a quiet stay. Its on the main street with all the pubs and bars and within walking distance of town centre and wetherspoons...who could ask for more.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central Layerthorpe
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,934 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#30 of 47 in York
1,704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £46 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing