We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Having read some very mixed reviews I was pleasantly surprised by our night at the Travelodge. The check in process was easy and the staff friendly and efficient. The rooms and beds were clean and comfortable. I thought the refurbished bathrooms / wet rooms were excellent. Our party included some children with a long term illness who were rather exhausted by the journey and didn't feel up to going out to a restaurant in the pouring rain. The staff were very accomodating about them eating in the bar area and were very attentive with serving drinks etc. One staff member called Karim (I think) was particularly friendly and welcoming. I would certainly recommend it for a short stay in York. It is also very handy for the city centre and the train station. The breakfast was also very good but only let down by used tables being cleared rather slowly. Otherwise a very good experience that makes me more encouraged to try Travelodge again for short stays.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank maureen1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    365
    268
    118
    113
See reviews for
294
427
54
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights, for a city break. It couldn't be more conveniently located for the station, with a 5 minute walk. It's probably another 5ish minute walk to the city centre, directly up the road using a less busy route than the main route to the station. There is a café and Sainsbury's 10 seconds away.

The hotel itself was one of the best Travelodges I have stayed in. Clean, quiet, great showers, TV. The only problem was that the room said there was air con, which we couldn't get to work. There was a fan though! I had a Travelodge breakfast for the first time, which was good value for money. I would recommend this as a good, practical budget option for staying in York.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Usually use Premier Inn in York and elsewhere but was very pleasantly surprised. Staff were very helpful, the whole hotel was clean and tidy (if a bit hot, but then it was August!). Breakfast was excellent too. Lovely Italian restaurant next door worth visiting

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank ochapman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Courtenay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

So standard travelodge hotel, clean rooms-however the wet room bathroom was in need of a good deep clean! Around the sealant on the shower is turning black and i could wipe some of this away with a towel.
The bed are comfy, you know normal Travelodge stuff. TV in room but no hairdryer, but you could get one from reception. The room was so hot! a fan had been provided, which was of little use?
TV in reception and later in the evening a local radio station-far to loud!
I think as group of friends we'll go back to using B&B's on our weekends away.

Room Tip: ask fro a room with a view of the Minster
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loudnorthernbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

All we wanted was a bed and a shower and that's what we got. Bed was very comfortable, shower was good and clean and all in all we were happy with that. Only a couple of problems. Not enough power sockets and the shower was wet room style so water leaked out across the bathroom. We solved the water problem with a towel in front of the shower, the electrical one could have been sorted with a multi socket adapter. So no big problems really. The room was really warm but so was the whole city and we were warned when booking that the location of the hotel meant the street out front was very busy but they weren't problems for us although may be for other people. All in all, would definitely use this hotel again and would certainly recommend to other people especially for it's very central location.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venividi230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great location, being convenient for the Railway Station and the City Centre.
This hotel used to have in-room air-conditioning, BUT this has now been removed, making the rooms sweltering hot on a summers day.
The Windows are great at hiding the noise from outside however, which is a mega plus point, and the staff are friendly too

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank CoasterGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Room adequate although a bit cramped with two children. Staff very Helpful. Breakfast excellent value. Kids ate free. Yates Wine bar a few minutes away proved to be good value for an evening meal. Would use hotel again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mature-Midlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing