We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Short break in York”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

A nice modern upgraded hotel in a very convenient location just 5 minutes walk to the main railway station, town centre and major attractions. I had a quiet comfortable room at the back of the hotel where I could open the windows and there was very little or no noise. Felt safe for the solo traveler. Would stay again and recommend

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Scottishlady1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    373
    270
    127
    114
See reviews for
299
436
54
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is well situated for most aspects of York and there are plenty of restaurants closeby.
The hotel itself is cheap and cheerful but lacks some amenities (no aircon in rooms, beds are not as large as advertised and the lounge is rather sparse).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We used to stay at the hotel when it was the Ramada. It was always a great location for visiting York as it's central and cheap..or so we thought. Tried to book for a friday and Saturday as we were in York for the weekend and were quoted £170 per night. Sorry but I'm never going to pay that for a Travelodge. I was perplexed to say the least at the price. We booked for Sun and Mon and this price plummeted to £40 per night. When we arrived, the foyer was full of stag and hen parties awaiting collection and it was clear this was the reason why Fri and Sat evenings are so expensive. The foyer looked dirty and smelt of people who had been partying for two days. It was a poor first impression of the hotel and quite off putting for my Gran. The room was as you expect from Travelodge. Cheap and cheerful.
The issues were the noise in the early hours from adjoining rooms, noisy children up at the crack of dawn with disinterested parents. For our party, away from our own children for a break, our planned lie-in didn't happen due to screaming kids from adjoining rooms. Maybe it might be worth considering putting families in one section of the hotel so guests can get a good rest. It's not rocket science just good management and planning.
Our mattress was also wet which required changing and the outside noise was noticeable on this visit.
In conclusion, you get what you pay for I suppose and this is a lesson for all people who consider staying here.
Reccomendation...do not pay £170 for a weekend evening stay as you will be devastated by the lack of quality. Sunday night's stay are a much cheaper price and York is still as beautiful on a sunday.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Berkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Usually we stay at Premier Inn but this travel lodge was cheaper so thought we'd give it a go! We had a room on the 2nd floor at the back overlooking a car park which was a bit noisy at times, especially as it was so warm we had to keep the window open overnight. However the room, while basic was clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good for what it cost, although my son would like to know why there were only blueberry muffins available and why were there no fried eggs! Despite these minor things, we would book this travel lodge again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0rna66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Well stayed here for one night 4 girls on a night out ,had a double room for 1 which was basic but ok ,lack of plug sockets in the room not one near the mirror ,no mat to stand on when getting out of the shower ,i know its a budget hotel but on check in we were told no rooms ready till 3 but we could leave our luggage in one of our rooms in half an hour for an extra 10.00, but no rooms ready till 3 didnt make sense, we said no its fine ,there is nowhere to leave your luggage which ive never stayed at a hotel where you cant leave your stuff ,all they want is to make more money out of you .
Rooms are quite warm but a very uncomfy bed .
Breakfast ok ,wouldnt stay here again .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbeymould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our first visit to York,and we booked the trip through Superbreaks.The hotel is within walking distance from the railway station and we soon arrived to be met by friendly staff.We had requested a third floor quiet room and this is what we received unfortunately it was a family room and had three beds made up,not much floor space left! We requested another room but they only had family rooms left owing to the popularity of the hotel.The receptionist said we could put away the extra beds as the were formed from the setee,or the staff would do it later,however we soon realised the tv wasn't working,the reason being,someone had taken the aerial cable away.The receptionist came upto the room and went away to seek out the missing cable,he returned ten minutes later saying we were to be moved to another room a few doors away(the extra beds had been put away in this one).After that everything went well,we found the various staff very helpful and efficient.The breakfast room was spacious and well stocked with everything,the cooked breakfast whilst nothing to write home about is good value and tasty for the all-inclusive price we paid,otherwise it costs £7.95 to buy separately.We stayed Fri & Sat night and had a quiet and good night's sleep,even though it is used by a lot of hen/stag parties.The only thing we were disappointed with was the lack of a luggage room,however there is a facility next to the rail station.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beardie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked a double room at this hotel and got a twin disabled room instead. Receptionist decided to lie to us and say we booked room when we did not and told us was full and get on with it. Not good at all! Really let down by this hotel and lets the brand down.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.4 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 46 in York
1,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central Micklegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Property: Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing