We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic flat with a short walk to City Centre!”

Review of Mallard Flat

Mallard living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mallard living room
Living room and kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
Mallard living room
Living room and kitchen
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Bedroom 2
Mallard main bathroom
Mallard: en suite shower
Mallard: outside area
Hall
Dining table
Dining area
Jacky's tub ...
A leisurely al fresco coffee
Kitchen area
Hall
Hall
Hall
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mandy C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic flat with a short walk to City Centre!”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just come back from a great weekend with friends staying at Mallard flat in York. We were met by Simon who was lovely and friendly and showed us around the flat and where everything was. Lovely, comfortable beds and spotlessly clean flat. There was a fresh loaf of bread, butter, teabags and milk too which was great after our journey from Cambridge! The flat was a 10 min walk from the station (we took a wrong turn and Simon came and met us along the road) which was really sweet. It was a 10/15 minute walk into the City centre which was great for us. We had a fabulous weekend and didn't want to come home!! Booking was easy and straight forward with Richard and my deposit was returned the very next day. I would recommend this flat as we had a great stay. We will be back. Thank you Richard and Simon. Mandy, Deborah, Viv and Nicola.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tea and milk on arrival. A lovely touch!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FC271
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“loved it!”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Very cosy and beautiful flat exactly as described in the picture. Will definitely stay here again when we return to York!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shar0nliz
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent flat in an ideal location for visiting York”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in Mallard Flat for a short break and found the flat to be exceptionally clean and comfortable. The flat has everything you may need and the provision of bread and milk was much appreciated, as were the store cupboard items. It is great for visiting York, with the city centre being easily within walking distance. Simon, the housekeeper, was friendly and welcoming and made it clear that if needed we could contact him (which we didn't need to do as everything was perfect). I would not hesitate to recommend this flat to others and would definitely stay again when returning to York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelmag...
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect place for 2 nights”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This 2 bedroom apartment was ideal for the four of us. It was very comfortable, clean, and quiet and well laid out. It was nice to have two full bathrooms. We cooked our meals and the kitchen was well equipped. It was a short walk from the train station and a short distance outside the walls of York. We were able to easily walk into the city center to explore York. Richard was very easy to communicate with via email, and all of the payment and security deposit transactions were completed easily and efficiently. Richard's housekeeper met us to let is in, and was there when we left, and he was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: cleanliness and comfort of the apartment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and flat”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just spent a few lovely days in York based at mallard flat. It was beautifully clean and really well located.

It was a lovely touch to leave basic foods to save the first night Rush to the shops and I will definitely recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulinean...
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely flat,great value for money.”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautiful flat ideal for a short or long stay. It was home from home with everything you could possibly need. There was fresh bread and milk and a well stocked store cupboard. Very clean and tidy with towels provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy parking and access.
Liked least: A little too far for us to walk to the city but buses close by.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthonyan...
1 review
“An Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We decided to have a short break in York with my elderly but quite active mother.
The ground floor access and reasonable distance to walk to the bus stop are all positives.
The walk into the centre of York doesn't take too long either.
The flat itself was immaculately clean when we arrived. It is quiet and comfortable, well equipped and insulated, we couldn't think of anything that was missing; and the access arrangements went well.
A driving tip: Research how to arrive at the flats via "Water End and Salisbury Road" rather than crawling round the York main system. It looks complicated, but it really isn't!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing