We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious and great location for York centre with...”

Review of Mallard Flat

Mallard living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mallard living room
Living room and kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
Mallard living room
Living room and kitchen
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Bedroom 2
Mallard main bathroom
Mallard: en suite shower
Mallard: outside area
Hall
Dining table
Dining area
Jacky's tub ...
A leisurely al fresco coffee
Kitchen area
Hall
Hall
Hall
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Elaine S
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Spacious and great location for York centre with free parking”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The flat is in a great location for an easy stroll in to York city centre. The parking space is a bonus if you are coming by car. Our party was made up of 2 couples so having two full bathrooms meant there was no queuing for the loo or shower. The flat is clean, spacious and well equipped. A great base for exploring or chilling out. We would definitely book again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Stew...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Appartment close to the centre of York.”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Brilliant accommodation situated a 5 minute walk away from the National Railway Museum. Very clean, comfortable and well equipped. We were met by Simon on our first day, shown everything and were made extremely welcome. Being able to stay so close to York and easily park the car at no additional charge was most appreciated. We are keen to return in the future......

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandaloo
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Mallard flat is absolutely wonderful and I would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to York. Very cozy, comfortable and fully equipped with anything and everything you could possibly need. We truly enjoyed our stay here and it would be my first choice if ever in the area again. The location is super convenient to the train station, a quick 10 minute walk at most and also to all of the historic sights that York has to offer. Richard was always so pleasant to talk with (via email) as was his other associate who greeted us at the apartment. Because of a train delay, sadly we never met the housekeeper Simon, but it was always a pleasure talking with him via email as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great home from home”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Conveniently located for the train station and a short stroll into the city centre, the Mallard Flat was perfect for a long weekend with my family. The kitchen had everything we needed (including foil and salt, pepper etc) and our hosts provided us with milk and bread which was great for breakfast! Having both a bath and walk-in shower was perfect for our needs and we made use of the on-site parking space. The quiet location made it all the more peaceful in the mornings and evenings. Very comfortable beds too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCost
philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring York”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Richard's flat was the ideal spot for us to use as we took our time and explored the city of York. It is an easy 15 minute walk into the walled confines and is also right on major bus routes. We enjoyed all the amenities we needed to prepare our own meals and the living area made it a pleasure to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Everything was as we had hoped it would be and we highly recommend this flat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEEBEE281...
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect small apartment for a few days in York.”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent 3 nights here when visiting the lovely city of York. Foss Flat was within a 15 minute stroll from The Minster and the many other attractions. It has its own car parking bay, so there were no need to drive once there. The apartment is small but has eveything required with lots of handy extras and a very welcome arrival pack. Communication with Richard was excellent prior to our arrival and Simon was there to meet us on arrival to see us settled in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sambailey...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My husband and I stayed here with our 5 year old son. We find apartments are a much better option than hotels with a child and Mallard Flat was excellent. The flat was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could need. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms excellent with good showers and a bath. Having 2 bathrooms was a nice bonus.

The flat is in a great location. Only a few minutes walk from the train station and National Railway museum and perhaps a 10 minute walk or £5 taxi ride into the centre.

Communication with Richard and Simon the housekeeper was really good and both were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't fault the flat and we will be back. An excellent choice, especially if you are visiting York as a family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing