We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon
Ranked #94 of 870 Restaurants in York
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Indian, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We popped in here for some cheap & cheerful food & decided on the 'beer & burger' option - I always choose the chicken breast burger option & my other half opted for a gourmet burger. I have to say that the chicken burger was one of the best I have had - the chicken breast was huge & not dry or over cooked, the gourmet burger (classic with blue cheese) was enormous & very tasty - we both had a pint (cider & Bitter) and were very happy with our £12 bill! It was a pleasant surprise. As we were there around 5.00pm it was reasonably quiet & we didn't have a long wait although it was fairly busy by the time we left - the staff were friendly & we couldn't fault it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howesthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L, Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thanks for this great review! We do have a fantastic choice of gourmet burgers and good to see your feedback about them. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    227
    61
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
377 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A good stop”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We enjoyed our dinner here...chicken Caesar salad and beer. The staff are efficient and the food is good. It was busy when we got here then evened out after awhile. We would definitely eat here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen4719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L, Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thanks Ellen, great review and great feedback. See you again next time you find yourself in York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An honest suprise”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited multiple times, staff is always very polite, food is never a letdown (best value for money around). Would definitely recommend going for a curry night. Nice atmosphere, no loud music but the place does get busy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L, Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Fantastic 5 star review and lovely feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review us Marta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“fantastic”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

we went here for dinner which was lovely had the curry which you got quite a bit for your money. we went back next day for breakfast which was lovely had eggs benedict which i would recommend. nice atmosphere and staff were so nice and polite. good value for money too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esme30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L, Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Fantastic feedback, thanks for leaving us a great review Esme. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in here for a quick drink but having seen the food come out we decided to eat.
We just had hot sandwiches but wow, they were delicious and very reasonably priced. My other half really enjoyed the guest beer (Shanker I think), said it was the nicest he's ever had! Staff were really lovely and friendly.
Can't wait to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank gauntys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L, Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thanks for your great review and cracking feedback on our range of food and drink. Hope you get to York to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing