We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon
Ranked #211 of 993 Restaurants in York
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 31 January 2015

We called here for brunch on January 2nd and the New Year's celebrations the day before had obviously taken their toll as the pub had run out of eggs and also chips! Not quite as bad as a pub with no beer but getting there. Kellie, our server handled the situation perfectly offering alternatives and substitutes. Our meals were wholesome, tasty and piping hot. When we returned to the pub later for coffee & cake after our day trip around York, Kellie greeted me by asking if we'd had a nice day out, which I found remarkable bearing the fact that the pub must serve hundreds of customers a day. Spotlessly clean loos, good grub and excellent customer service. We'll definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L, Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Thanks for your great review, i'll pass your comments on to Kellie and i'm sure she'll be beaming! Hope you get back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 551 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2015 via mobile

Called in for a burger and a pint...ordered at the bar a normal chicken burger and a pint for £5.49, went to the loo, came back and on the table!! Super fast service, good quality food and staff friendly! Warm gas fire as freezing wind blowing in from the Arctic!! Defo would go again!

Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L, Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Thanks for your review Dave, can't beat our beer and burger deal. Glad you had a great visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015 via mobile

This Wetherspoon pub comes with the standard menu and so you at least know well in advance what you might like. Despite being quite early we were lucky to find a table the pub was so busy. Many coming after us had to wait or decided to go elsewhere.
Even with a standard menu the kitchen can still mis - prepare or cook the food incorrectly but none of this was apparent here. It was served reasonably quickly considering how busy it was at good temperature and well set out.
Slight downsides were tables a little tightly packed together, our table seemed to be in direct line of the draught from the door and no-one checked to see if our food was ok, but overall a very good experience and good value as always with this chain.

Thank m50lws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L, Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

Thanks for your review! Glad to hear you had a good experience, we do get incredibly busy so its good advice to get in early, especially on club nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Called into this pub for lunch. Excellent atmosphere and menu. Ordered the chicken and mushroom pie with a pint of cider. Food was excellent and it was once of the best pies I have ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L, Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

Thanks for your great review! Hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015 via mobile

We were glad to find a warm friendly welcome here on a bitter cold day. We had the special offer called "Beer and Burger" from the excessively complicated menu. Sadly, the drink I wanted was not included so I ended up with Pepsi! The Beef Gormet Burger and Philly Cheese Steak were great. The portions were massive - just what we needed before doing the Christmas Market... You won't regret choosing this place if you watch the choices carefully.

1  Thank JohnA_LE16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L, Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

Thanks for your review John, we do get packed to the rafters some days. We are a good place to stop to get a meal before a big shopping trip. Glad to hear you got a good warm Punchbowl welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing