We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

good location, great view, good room, large , clean, good value.
Front office is kind and helpful. not far from train station and city by walk. Don't miss the train musuem.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    676
    326
    124
    68
See reviews for
211
918
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Queens Hotel on 17th November for 1 night, we paid an extra £10.00 for a river view room (well worth the money) and an extra £10.00 to park the car in the car park, We felt we had excellent value for money,
The room (No.39) was great, lovely large room with small but functional bathroom, the best bit was the lovely view over the river, The hotel is in an excellent location, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was great - self service with a waitress taking orders for fried eggs if required.
Overall we definately recommend this hotel - Just wish they would take one night bookings for Saturday nights

Room Tip: We requested a river view room which was an additional £10.00 - we thought it was worth the money,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Out_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I have stayed at The Queens in York many times before but hadnt been for about 4 years and had heard it had gone downhill a bit. I can honestly say it hasnt and we had a lovely stay there Oct31-Nov 2nd 2011. It was only £60 a nite, room only.
We had a room overlooking the river which was nice. We had a huge room with an equally huge super king size bed with comfy matteress and pillows. Bathroom was nice and clean, shower was warm and powerful. Towels changed daily. We had a 2 min walk into the city centre of York. Its ideal. There is a car park underneath but its not huge and you have to pay for the pleasure. We just went on the train instead, got a bargain there too!
Will de be going back to stay at The Queens soon x

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

we found the rooms very clean and the staff helpful and polite, the breakfast was superb with plenty of choice, the queens is ideally situated ands within reach (and crawl) of attractions and hostelries, thankyou

Room Tip: we had a rfoom overlooking the quadrangle, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westyorkshireevo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed for 3 nights with my partner in September and the noise coming from outside wasnt too bad at all. However, the noise coming from the TV in the next room was not! It was excessively loud until almost 1am every night and then again from 7am.

Also we had a room with dirty, oily handprints on the walls above the bed and our bathroom also had black mould in the grouting.

The location of this hotel is fantastic. If your number one priority is location then go for it, but if you're looking for somewhere special to stay then avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room otherwise you'll be looking out onto the inside yard or the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I booked a three day break at the Queens for our 25th Wedding Anniversary in August and boy were we dissapointed! This was our fourth visit to this hotel so we were looking forward to it but we were shocked at how rundown the decor had become. Our room had a broken flush on the toilet, black mould on the grout of the bathroom tiles, dents and marks all over the wall in the bedroom and the curtains were so threadbare it was a waste of time pulling them together! Breakfast was, as always good but the evening meal was a complete let down. Come on Queens give the place (and menu) a make over - it's long overdue. Needless to say we won't be returning and we are already looking at alternative hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExcaliburGifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Hotel was located right next to river, very close to all the attractions. Check in was fine but we were told that the room key machine was not working so we'd have to hand our key in each time we left the hotel as it was the only copy they had - bit of a pain. Good value for York which tends to be expensive. Rooms and breakfast were fine, generic hotel rooms really. All in all it was adequate for our needs.

Room Tip: pay extra (£10 I believe) for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and TravelUp so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing