We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but nothing special”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 28 January 2008

The Queens Hotel is a standard hotel in a central location.

The location is fantastic and really good for the tourist and business traveller.

The rooms are a bit tired, but are clean and comfortable.

The food and drink selection are limited, but you are so close to so many good restaurants that this doesn't really matter. Thida Thai and Akbar Pakistani restaurants are both a very short walk away and worth visitng.

The breakfast starts at 07:30, which is a bit late for me, but the staff were happy to prepare a continental breakfast for me to take to work, which was good.

Word of warning - check with the hotel about parking 24hrs prior to arrival - the car park is under the hotel and floods during the rainy season (see picture). Alternative secure parking is a 5 minute walk around the corner. The main entrance is also out of use during floods, so you have to enter and exit through a fire exit.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dave_Cakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,631 - 1,637 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2008

Our stay at the Queens Hotel was very pleasant we had a good size room which overlooked the river on the 3rd floor of the hotel. It is ideally placed for the tourist being just a short walk across the bridge to the main tourist attractions, the city shopping area and restaurants. We had booked on booking.com for 4 nights stay and got a very good deal with their winter break special 59GBP including breakfast then decided to pay the extra 10 pound a night for a parking space. My only complaint would be some of the breakfast. There was plenty of it but I must admit I object to tinned fruit and tomatoes and the scrambled eggs were grey and rubbery. After the 1st morning we opted to order poached eggs. It was very busy while we were there due to a wedding party that were all staying and the staff, while pleasant, were a little frazzled and we had to keep asking for things like cutlery and teabags or milk which they were a little slow replenishing. All in all I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kitkatR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Stayed for New Years eve. OK. Staff friendly. Rooms fine. Ours had good view from window. Would stay again. Excellent central location. 10 mins walk to the Minster and right on the river. Quite picturesque really

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chorltonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2007

we have just spent the last two days at the quuens hotel in york and cannot praise it highly enough. excellent accomodation ideally located right in the tourist centre of york on the banks of the ouse. would recommend this hotel will definately be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank youngjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

We stayed at the Queens for 2 nights for a concert in the Royal Opera House. Fantasic location wow! You can walk to the city in 2 minutes and it is easy to find. We arrived very late on the Saturday night which was not a problem due to the 24hr reception.

After we had seen some comments about noise due to the central location. I emailed ahead and we were given a large 1st floor inner facing room. So we had no noise and could safely leave our window open if we wished. Breakfast was good and regularly filled so even if you were late there was plenty of food.

Decor was traditional but clean. Would definately stay again due to the location.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goodvalueseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2007

I have just returned from a 4 night stay in the hotel. My wife and I are regular visitors to York and normally stay in an apartment next to the hotel but this year decided to let someone else do the washing up and make the bed. The best rooms are the ones overlooking the River Ouse but be warned that the late clubs and adjacent taxi office even though they are accross the other side of the river will keep you awake let alone the ducks and geese outside the hotel windows, this we were already aware off from many previous visits to York. The breakfast is plentyful if not spectacular as we did not dine in the hotel I cannot comment on it. The rooms are clean but this is not a flash hotel and you get what you pay for. Staff are fine and seem to be mostly locals from York. If you take a car pay for the secure parking it is worth it. The pubs and shops are within a easy 10 minute stroll.

Stayed: November 2007
6  Thank Paul_Bunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Just come back from a long weekend in York. Decided to stay at the queens hotel because of location. After reading a few of the previous reviews I was a little concerned.

After arriving the concerns were squashed! The queens hotel is a lovely hotel right on the river front (any closer and you would fall in!) Parking is an extra charge but is well worth it as it is a very secure car park (make sure you book your space before arrival) The hotel staff are friendly and the hotel is clean. We stayed in room 49 which over looks the river and has gorgeous views of York.

Yes the hotel is a little bit dated but no different to your premier inn or travel lodge. Breakfast is a bufett style and you do have to ask for fried eggs. Location is perfect a short walk away from everything and the bars shops and restaurants are fantastic.

If doing a ghost walk I would strongly reccomend the original ghost tour that starts outside the Kings head pub which is dirrectly opposite the hotel on the other side of the river. It will give you intresting history facts about York as well as a few creepy tales and is certainly fun for all ages!

We are looking to go back for my hen doo!!! :-) And I really can't wait!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,951 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,864 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Queen's Staith Road | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £73 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers accommodation perfectly situated on the banks of the River Ouse in the heart of the city of York. The Queens Hotel features 78 bedrooms. Guests of the hotel are welcomed in the lobby, which has a 24-hour reception. A lift provides easy access to the upper floors. Services and facilities at the hotel include wireless internet access, a brasserie restaurant and a lounge bar. Guests arriving in their own vehicles must pre book parking, nightly charges apply. All major tourist attraction and shopping is within walking distance and some nightlife/restaurants/pubs are located near the hotel. Room description All 78 rooms feature central heating and a bathroom with shower/bathtub and hairdryer. The accommodation units offer a range of amenities, including tea and coffee making equipment. Superior river view rooms can be requested and carry a nightly supplement, smoking rooms can also be requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing