We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Queens Hotel York”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed Friday 22nd June to Sunday 24th June 2012 for my husbands birthday and the room was very spacious and clean, clean towels both days and plenty of tea coffee and biscuits.
We would recommend this hotel for couples and singles alike and the location is perfect as you are straight into the main centre and the pubs and restaurants and shops.
The breakfast was outstanding, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, full english and toast, tea and coffee.Perfect weekend break would definately recommend this hotel! Joanne and Tony. Hessle

Room Tip: Ask for the river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just stayed one night when visiting York for a wedding. We wanted a central location with a car park and providing you don t pick a day when it gets flooded(we did and had to rescue the car at 6.45am - thanks though for the call) it hits the mark on both counts.
We were very happy with our choice and the rooms was fine with a comfortable big bed and a quiet location. We overlooked a courtyard. The bathroom was a little tired and maybe a bit basic, but overall as good as a premier inn .
This is a 2 star hotel and location alone should make it 3.
Check in at reception was good and welcoming. We were able to leave our baggage and hang clothes up as the room was not ready when we arrived. A taxi arrived promptly.
Breakfast was good and eggs cooked to order meant we got great fried eggs, done just the way I like runny and crispy underneath.
Would definitely recommend if the price is right.
Car park is £10 extra and although asked to pay, with the flooding we disagreed and they agreed to waive.We had moved the car to a pay carpark as we were staying in York until the afternoon.

Room Tip: Ask for river view if this is important, but could be noisy Courtyard rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ponymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed at Queens Hotel on Groupon deal which was very good value. The hotel is in a great location and our room overlooked the river. It was very convenient for all the amenities in York. Our room was large and the beds very comfortable however it was very warm in the room and there was no air conditioning. Staff on reception were very helpful and it was very useful to have car parking under the hotel. The buffet breakfast was adequate. I would recommend this hotel because of its position and friendly staff. Unfortunately it rained the whole time of our visit!

Room Tip: superior room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel is in on the river front. A fantastic location. Literally 1 minute walk to the town centre. The hotel has very freindly and welcoming staff. The room was recently decorated. The hotel is clean. Breakfast buffet was yummy, hot and delicious. Good choice of breakfast items. Hotel room attended to by room service each day of our stay. Not sure why this hotel hasn't got more stars. We will certainly stay here again when visiting York. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room - which is very spacious and had a lovley view of York and teh river. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

the hotel was in perfect position ,on water front ,had car parking,staff was excellent,breakfast was superb,bar was great,defo stay there again ,so clean and perfect thankyou

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night on 10th June.
After a bit if difficulty finding our way to the door through the roadworks, we arrived about an hour earlier than the recommended check in time of 2.30 pm. Our room happened to be ready so got checked straight in. Receptionist was friendly and helpful enough.
We pre booked parking at £10 per night. The car park is at river level and is prone to flooding in extreme weather. There are plenty of signs warning you of this.
We had a ruin on the top floor looking out over the river which was an added bonus.
the room was nice and clean, bright and well appointed. LCD TV on the wall, kettle and tea/coffee making ingredients, soaps and gels in the bathroom along with a hairdryer and towels. The bed was nice and comfortable too.
We included breakfast and really enjoyed it. Cereal and full English set us up for the day. The dining area was nice too.
No complaints about this hotel, overall good value, good service, good quality accommodation and great location. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TroyKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

An excellent location for the centre of York being right on the river. As some reviewers have said there were roadworks going on but that is hardly the hotels fault and they won't last for ever.
The room was clean, a reasonable size and the bathroom facilities all worked. The buffet style breakfast was good and the cook would prepare other types of egg if you didn't want scrambled.
The only issue we had was the silly drunken women in the room above ours who did wake us several times.
The hotel website does say a minimum of two nights is required at the weekend but we only booked one night without any problem.
The parking at £10/night does seem expensive but this is right in the city so only to be expected.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alifink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Queen's Staith Road | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £74 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers accommodation perfectly situated on the banks of the River Ouse in the heart of the city of York. The Queens Hotel features 78 bedrooms. Guests of the hotel are welcomed in the lobby, which has a 24-hour reception. A lift provides easy access to the upper floors. Services and facilities at the hotel include wireless internet access, a brasserie restaurant and a lounge bar. Guests arriving in their own vehicles must pre book parking, nightly charges apply. All major tourist attraction and shopping is within walking distance and some nightlife/restaurants/pubs are located near the hotel. Room description All 78 rooms feature central heating and a bathroom with shower/bathtub and hairdryer. The accommodation units offer a range of amenities, including tea and coffee making equipment. Superior river view rooms can be requested and carry a nightly supplement, smoking rooms can also be requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing