We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated decor, not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in York
1 review
“Dated decor, not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a living social voucher deal. The decor is dated and the room we were in looked tired, especially the grimy bathroom. Soap scum and mouldy fixtures didn't make for a relaxing wash time nor did the dodgy shower which half-flooded the floor. Some of the cushions on the bed felt clammy and there were also spider webs on the corner of the room, we even spied a dead bluebottle fly on the floor! To top it off I woke up with 6 bites on my legs...bedbugs???! Disappointment aside, it's location is fantastic, with river view rooms, the staff are ok and the breakfast is nothing to write home about. We wouldn't stay here again, certainly not for the £60 deal price we paid, let alone full price! When enquiring about the possibility of paying a supplement to stay on the weekend due to work commitments, we were told it would be an extra £60. A price which seems extremely unreasonable after spending a night there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crave89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    689
    332
    124
    68
See reviews for
215
941
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had room 1 which was very noisy from nighttime footfall and bar noise.
Our shower was near to useless leaking all over the floor.Bed was comfy.
Breakfast was a cooked buffet which was ok.
Parking was £10 per night offsite.
All in all I'd say the price dragged down my rating,would have been happier paying £80 per night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izatequilafan!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high peak, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

LOCATION...FANTASTIC ,on site parking £10 per night.( could be free at the room cost )
HOTEL...MAJOR LET DOWN !!! no welcome at reception , you could stand there all day regardless, same when you went out or came back...no recognition from staff,HELLO/GOOD- EVENING,CAN I HELP...goes a long way,and doesnt cost anything.
ROOM...£180 for FRI/SAT night no breakfast...no fan/no aircon...cramped & Not very clean.First thing you see is the mirror which you cant actually see in, smudged & marked....had to have velux window fully open all night.Noisy due to bars open late across the river.
BATHROOM...Functional, not very clean.....second hand soap shower gel ? shower worked well enough but fan didnt work. ( bin was not emptied when room supposedly serviced)
The lift had a trip hazard mat in it , and SAT morn had dirty tissues and trodden in chips in it.
BREAKFAST was good not greasy...but staff disorganised, as was the service area...if you wanted cereal you had to wait for the hot drink people or vice versa.
OVERALL NOT WORTH THE MONEY....WILL NOT RECOMMEND OR VISIT AGAIN

Room Tip: You would loose the view ,but you would probably be better on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c9rlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

A group of 5 couples went to York to celebrate a friends 40th Birthday and we wanted to be in the city. We chose the Queens Hotel and could not have been happier. The service, the cleanliness, the food and the staff are second to none - do not hesitate you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: a room facing the river would be lovely but we didnt have one of those and our stay was still fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This hotel is in a good location right on the river.We could walk to all of the sights. However, the family room was bit tight, really it was a queen bed with two pull out beds. It didn't leave a lot of room to move around. Also, the room was clean but a bit old. The lights flickered and the toilet didn't flush well, no fan in the bathroom. so towels didn't dry well. The breakfast was nice and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012travelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed at the hotel on 17th August 2012.

The position by the river is superb.

Room was fine, but very warm and no Aircon or information on any fans that could be used.

Bathroom small but dfully functional. TV was a flatscreen but need to be bigger if you want to watch TV whilst lying on the bed.

Parking was full so we had to use an NCP which was £17.00 for 24 hours. Although recommended by the hotel, they should negotiate a special rate for guests especially as their own car park can get full and is only £10.00.

Breakfast is Buffet style and was fine except that no hotel whould serve scrambled eggs and keep them under the heat lights!

Boiled or Fried would survive much better.

Wouild certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Have a room with a river view even if it costs a little more you can always negotioatr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed two nights. Our room had a lovely view of the river and was decent sized. Hotel is very close to the centre of York and provides a great breakfast.
Overall I would recommend although the bathroom/ shower is small and could be nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisalexander_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing