We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Tired hotel”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, Tired hotel”
Reviewed 29 February 2008

I stayed in the Queens hotel for 2 nights, for a weekend getaway.
First impressions werent good. The 'Reception' was bare and staff werent very friendly. The room was ok, but bit tired looking, and bathroom was decorated in a crazy style.
Came back on first night for coffee in the bar. As we hadn't looked around when we arrived, we asked at reception if there was a bar open for coffee. Man at reception pointed round the corner. So off we went. Walked into what felt like a retirement home (not because of th people, just the style and feel of the room!) Went up to bar, and the man form reception was there, it was like something from Faulty Towers!

Breakfast was nothing special. Tea and coffee was from sachets and overall feel was of a hostel.

York was great, but wouldnt recommend this hotel. The location was good, but didnt want to spend anytime in the hotel, so stayed away as much as we could!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Pookie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    693
    338
    124
    68
See reviews for
218
950
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2008

this hotel is awful. lets start from checking in the staff were un helpful and looked like they really couldn't be bothered working. She was only a young girl on the desk proberbly working there part time for uni funds. The night porter was even worse we went out and arrived back at the hotel about 2.30 am and struggled to get in our room. when we asked for help he was ignorant and rude just some old man on a power trip. the hotel room was very basic in a horrible mustard yellow colour and the bathroom was even worse nothing matched. I would recommend anyone to go to york but next time ill be going i will deffinatley note be staying here

  • Liked — it's cental location
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sm0keyj0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2008

We stayed at the Queens during the festive period- the hotel was tastefully decorated and the staff were helpful.

Our room was spacious and comfortable- there was an issue with the bathroom light, but that was quickly solved by a trip down to reception by my wife.
I would book the hotel again if we visit York, and i would imagine they could put on a good 'do'!

Friendly staff, clean and fresh accomodation and parking provided (but apparently this should be booked in advance- we did not have a problem!)

The breakfasts were wonderful with a large choice of options, although we did not dine in the hotel at any other point so cannot comment on cuisine in general.

Overall i would reccomend the hotel- it was nice and sleepy when we stayed- perhaps not suited to groups of young people as the nightlife of York wasn't on the doorstep (thankfully!)

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliesussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
255 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

Booked this hotel, last minute on Laterooms. We paid £63.00 for a double room with breakfast. The hotel is in a fantastic location, with parking available if you ring and book this. Unfortunately, on the night we stayed the river was flooded, so the car park was colsed. However, there is an NCP car park around the corner which cost £10 for 24 hours stay. The room was huge and overlooking the river with fantastic views; the bathroom had a bath and shower which was clean with fresh towel. Breakfast was buffet style and you can eat as much as you want. We only stayed one night, but felt it was a great location, good value for money and would stay there again.

  • Liked — location.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vanessa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2008

The Queens Hotel is a standard hotel in a central location.

The location is fantastic and really good for the tourist and business traveller.

The rooms are a bit tired, but are clean and comfortable.

The food and drink selection are limited, but you are so close to so many good restaurants that this doesn't really matter. Thida Thai and Akbar Pakistani restaurants are both a very short walk away and worth visitng.

The breakfast starts at 07:30, which is a bit late for me, but the staff were happy to prepare a continental breakfast for me to take to work, which was good.

Word of warning - check with the hotel about parking 24hrs prior to arrival - the car park is under the hotel and floods during the rainy season (see picture). Alternative secure parking is a 5 minute walk around the corner. The main entrance is also out of use during floods, so you have to enter and exit through a fire exit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food Choice
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Cakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Our stay at the Queens Hotel was very pleasant we had a good size room which overlooked the river on the 3rd floor of the hotel. It is ideally placed for the tourist being just a short walk across the bridge to the main tourist attractions, the city shopping area and restaurants. We had booked on booking.com for 4 nights stay and got a very good deal with their winter break special 59GBP including breakfast then decided to pay the extra 10 pound a night for a parking space. My only complaint would be some of the breakfast. There was plenty of it but I must admit I object to tinned fruit and tomatoes and the scrambled eggs were grey and rubbery. After the 1st morning we opted to order poached eggs. It was very busy while we were there due to a wedding party that were all staying and the staff, while pleasant, were a little frazzled and we had to keep asking for things like cutlery and teabags or milk which they were a little slow replenishing. All in all I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Size and situation
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkatR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Stayed for New Years eve. OK. Staff friendly. Rooms fine. Ours had good view from window. Would stay again. Excellent central location. 10 mins walk to the Minster and right on the river. Quite picturesque really

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chorltonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing