We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel with Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in York
Doncaster
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel with Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We arrived at the hotel just after 6pm and parked underneath the hotel in the small car park which cost us £10 for the night. When we checked in at reception staff weren't the best or the nicest people but it was quick and painless really. The room was on the 3rd floor with side views towards the river. It was a decent size room wih a comfy bed, our room was really clean so did not have a problem there. The breakfast the following day was buffet style, you got an ok selection however we felt it could have been warmer.
The best bit of this hotel is the location literally at the side of the River Ouse and the centre of York is only a 2 minute walk away. We would stay at this hotel again and i would recommend it to people who would like a good central hotel but i wouldn't pay over the odds for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyGareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    688
    332
    124
    68
See reviews for
214
940
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
county durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

i stayed for a girly shopping trip to york got a good deal of dinner bed and breakfast, we could leave our bags when we arrived. checked in later in the day but allowed plenty of time to look around. your right in the centre of york by the river ouse and helpful staff dinner was loverly and service was quick no waiting around. and the room was loverly clean and tidy and breakfast was great you could go up and get what you wanted. For the price it offered great value for money and we ran out of milk in the room so we asked on the night as were having a few drinks in the downstairs lounge overlooking the river and the guy got it right before he was going home for the night so the jug of milk was kept nice and cold for as long as possible nothing was a bother receptions were very helpful as well. a good hotel in the heart of york

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

we visited York for Easter as a family ( 4 adults ) we decided to stay over for another night and found this lovely hotel, basic and clean and comfy beds all you need. Got a deal on booking.com and was only £47 per room so a very good price it did not include breakfast but still value for money, staff were friendly and the view from the bar was lovely. well done queens for a pleasant night stay, we will defo come again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: even on the 3rd fllor you still get a power shower and plenty of hot water when ever you need it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda196252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This hotel is by no means a disaster, but it could be better. At the same time it needs to be remembered that it is a budget rather than boutique establishment.
On arrival I parked the car in the under-hotel car park, having been previously warned that it was prone to flooding. It costs £10 per night to park there, but it was handy to have the car close at hand in an area where parking is very restricted. On finding our room, we noticed that there was no soap/handwash in the en-suite bathroom. I asked reception to rectify this but was told by the male receptionist that 'housekeeping was closed for the day' (it was only just after 5.00pm) and we would have to wait until the morning. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was average, not much choice on the menu. As a result we ate out on the other nights. Breakfast was absolutely fine.
I think the most serious concern is a health and safety one. Firstly, the hot water in the en-suite was scalding hot, with no warning that this might be the case. Secondly, it proved almost impossible to regulate the temperature of the shower. The slightest touch meant that you were either freezing or being boiled alive. Apparently all the showers are being replaced, but that's not much consolation to present guests.
On the plus side, the hotel is beautifully situated right on the river, with a lovely view from the lounge. Also, it is very central and within easy walking distance of most of York's attractions, so no need to take the car out unless you're going further afield.
Finally, the staff were generally friendly and helpful, particularly those who were responsible for the cleaning and monitoring of standards in the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the river must be nice, but I think you pay extra for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We arrived on Thursday 28th March at about 5pm with our daughter, son-in-law and 1 year old granddaughter and or eldest daughter and 2 year old grandson. We certainly did NOT receive the "warm and friendly" welcome promised - in fact we definitely felt a nuisance. We had 3 rooms none of which were particularly clean - the bath and bath mats in all 3 rooms had black mould which can induce asthma in small children. We had to return cups and saucers as they hadn't been washed and one of them had a hair inside it!!The first morning we went down to breakfast we were again made to feel a nuisance as we needed 2 high chairs and we asked for some hot milk!! We went to ask reception what time would be best to go down to breakfast on Easter Saturday and her exact words were "I think you'd be better off going out for breakfast - you'll probably enjoy it more"!!!! The elderly guests obviously take priority in this hotel and the old adage "children should be seen and not heard " is very apparent!! We paid over £1300 for our 5 night stay which under these circumstances was daylight robbery !! A near perfect location cannot make up for the lack of service. We will never return.!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamara15153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I stayed for a 3 day weekend break. The hotel is very comfortable and very close to the centre of town so handy for the attractions, bars & restuarants. The room was large and spacious and the bathroom clean. Although in all it was a good hotel it was let down by small items. All the glasses at breakfast were streaky on all three days. My booking advised that breakfast (which was plentiful) was £7.50 per head but upon leaving I was charged £7.95 and the staff kept on parking in the car park accesses so I had to keep having to get this moved so I could either park or get my car out.
These were annoying but we would return again.

Room Tip: Park near the entrance so you don't get blocked in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ContourMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

On arrival we paid extra to have a river view and were given room 3. The room was a nice size but the cleaning left a lot to be desired.
The mattress on the bed had sunk in the middle and when we complained about it to Gonzalas he said he was aware of the tired mattresses and they where being replaced later this year.
So why still use it in that state

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aycliffetaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing