We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer by the Ouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
hartlepool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Summer by the Ouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

We booked through an agent who gave us a standard double room.
I contacted the hotel direct and requested a non smoking double room with a view of the river. We were contacted very quickly by the hotel who confirmed this at an extra cost of 5 pounds. On arrival we found our room quite large with a king size bed. It was simply furnished in modern style with a decent size bathroom, plenty of hot water etc.
It was early summer (May) with good weather and the room had a good view of the river Ouse, with the usual boats going up and down, geese and their young, swans, riverside pubs directly opposite. We wondered if these pubs would be a problem late at night but they went quiet soon after 11 pm.
No problem with this hotel-well situated fo the city and good value in my opinion.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElderleyMalePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    676
    326
    124
    68
See reviews for
211
918
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2008

Just come back from a 2 day stay at the Queens Hotel, York. Great location. Very Good Weather! Self Service Buffet breakfast - excellent! Paid an extra £5 per night for a river view. Excellent Room (Room 40). My parents stayed in Room 39 - even better! Dual aspect room overlooking river. The room is huge and has two pull out matresses from the king size bed. Secure Parking (underneath hotel) was available for £10 per night - cheaper than the NCP up the road. A 5 minute walk takes you to the Shambles and Jorvik Centre. Plentry of places to eat/drink nearby. We had a set menu on first night at Rustiques, Castlegate (round the corner from Jorvik Centre). £12 for 3 course set menu. Very nice for early birds (5.30 - 7.00 pm). Second night ate at Russels, Coppergate. Again a 3 course carvery for £16.95. Excellent meal. Very filling! Highly recommended (5.30 - 7.00 pm). If you like shopping York is the place to go - excellent shopping round the Shambles/Coney Street/Newgate Market. We did the York Tour Bus (£9 per person), Jorvik Centre (£8) per person and would recommend both. Walked up to York Minster but did not go in. It is approx £8 per person and it can make it an expensive weekend if you try and do everything. Most things are approx £8 entrance fee. Will probably do this on our next visit together with Fairfax House which also looked very welcoming. This is opposite the Rustique Restaurant and Masonic Lodge. Whilst eating our dinner we noticed a lot of gentleman around next door in their Black Ties! Will definitely be going back and will definitely stay at The Queens Hotel.

  • Liked — Size and Cleanliness of Room
  • Disliked — Not enough pillows!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Not_enough_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salford, manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

Maybe it is a bit late to write a review of a hotel a year after you have stayed in it but I've just got into Trip Advisor and think that I should write a review about this place.

We stayed here for a long weekend in March 2007 and we really liked this hotel. It had a superb location and the Hotel was really clean and welcoming. There was underground parking for lots of cars and we had no problems being allocated a space.

york is such a nice place to visit and I think that the Hotel really did the city justice and we was on the top floor in a room that had 2 lots of windows and the bathroom was really nice as well. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay here. Hopefully it is still the same now and I relaly hope standards have not slipped ( I can't see that this would happen) and we hope to go for another weekend in York soon. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again - it was great and just what we needed for a really nice UK city break away.

  • Liked — the atmosphere and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank luca0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2008

we spent last weekend at the queens hotel on the banks of the river ouse,don't book the smoking floor we were meeting up with 3 other couples one of which booked the hotel.2 days before we arrived phil had a phone call to say we could'nt park until 5pm as there was a conference booked so we had to pay for alternate parking at £5.30 for 3 hrs,on arrival to our room N0 77 the smell was pungent with smoke on enquiring re another room we were curtly informed you new it was a smoking room when it was booked,we had to go out and buy air freshner,never have i even smelt a pub that bad it was in the sheets and pillows.good job it was only 2 nights then we were informed it was £10 a night to park when i asked if we could stay later on the sunday we were told emphatically no as cars were booked in for the sun i explained yes we were but we could'nt park until later and we had paid for 48hrs parking the receptionist would'nt budge and the manageress was'nt aavailable until mon when we'd be home!so look elsewhere there are other hotels believe me!!!!!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ChesterZoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smayork, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2008
Although I normally do not respond to reviews I do feel the need to respond to this one as I personally spoke to the guest on my return to the office on Monday morning. A refund was given for the extra car parking charges and an offer to also refund another of the group members who was inconvenienced by the parking arrangements. It should also be noted that the group organiser was fully aware that the only rooms available when making his booking were the smoking rooms, he chose to confirm the rooms with this in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Wymeswold, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

Just come back from a weekend in York with my wife and two children (aged 8 and 10) and had one night (Saturday 19th) at teh Queens Hotel.

Booked it through hotel.net where the offer was £115 for the family inc breakfast and evening dinner, which was OK. Only after booking and trawling through the terms and conditions did we realise that the children's meals were not included, but we have taken this up with Superbreak.com as it was their website which was misleading, not the hotel's.

The Queens is ideally situated in a fabulous location right next to the river. Our room was OK for four of us, and staff very helpful.

As said, we had to pay for the children's meals (£6 dinner, £5 breakfast each) and they went on the bill. Hoever, we had a bottle of wine and kids drinks with the meal, and they had to be paid for by cash there and then - couldn't go on the room bill or on a card!. It was a good job we had £20 to hand at half-ten on Saturday night. All seemed a bit odd.

Other than that, as another reviewer reported, our room also had an annoying electrical buzzing all night from the wardrobe. I had to get up at 3am and switch all the fuses off to stop it.

As the others say, there is no chance of parking nearby so you have to use the NCP park up the road - it cost us £17 for two days.

However, as a great base to explore York I'd recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — Good location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — A bit disorganised with charges, lack of car parking
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WymeswoldVets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2008

Just returned from a three night break at the queens hotel york. Booked through the york tourist information website and got a three for two offer. The hotel was lovely. It was clean and the staff were friendly. The cooked breakfast was really good. I dont know why some people have put such negative comments about this hotel. Our room was lovely and cosy. Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided in the room. We were on the top floor so had a sky light, but we could still see the river. If you are booking this hotel I would advise to book early, as we booked late and could only have a smoking room which did smell a little stale. They are currently reducing the smoking rooms from fifteen to seven. Overall this hotel really conributed to making our break so enjoyable. The city centre was just a short walk away and only a 10 - 15 minute walk from the train station. We will definately be staying here again.

  • Liked — Loved the room and breakfast!
  • Disliked — shame that they have smoking rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_and_SMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

My fiance and I stayed in the Queens Hotel in February for a weekend away.
Hotel is in brilliant location, short walk over the bridge and u are right in the town.
Rooms are nothin fancy but good value for what you pay, no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing