We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very correct hotel for the price.”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A very correct hotel for the price.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Good ubication, near the bridge over the river so you can reach the old town of York in 10 minutes. Personal is very kind and helpful. The parking is in the same building,
Very good relation quality/price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    708
    344
    124
    68
See reviews for
220
971
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I didn't have a high expectation of this hotel because it was quite inexpensive but I was very pleasantly surprised. It was by no means luxurious but it was very comfortable, clean and in an excellent location. The bed was very comfortable which is very important to us. The tv was very small but really who travels to watch tv. The location is excellent and the bar has a lovely view over the river. We arrived back at the hotel late and the barman was very accommodating. The breakfast is plentiful and of a high quality. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BabsPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

last minute booking with Edwards Coaches so there was 48 of us. Food was great and well organised for the evening meal. All staff were friendly and helpful, Great location for visiting attractions as not far to walk to train museum and city centre/shambles/york minster. Drinks a bit expensive but Yates pub across the bridge which was a lot cheaper and also have a beer garden.
The rooms are very clean but do have protective mattress covers on beds which we found too hot in the recent heatwave

Room Tip: we requested a twin room so was delighted when we had a double bed and a single especially when it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We thought this was a carvery restaurant although not staying at the hotel. There were 4 items on the main course menu. Roast beef, roast chicken, salmon and stuffed pepper.
My 12 year old asked for an omelette from the children's menu but asked for no tomatoes. I asked if we could have a drink as not initially offered one. The young waiter agreed to get them but then left them on the bar. 2 pints of Pepsi were charged at 4 half pints.
The omelette came with tomatoes and another one was made and we were charged £7. The roast beef was tasty and the chicken looked lovely and was plentiful. The vegetables were boring. Not a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amnicoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

thank goodness we only stayed for one night, this hotel from the outside looks modern, when you go in that is not the case, very out dated needs to be fully refurbished, the breakfast lady was having a off day she was not happy, infact not one person looked happy, maybe the heat was getting to them. (no air con). such a shame as the position of this hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Great location. A good value hotel in the centre of York. The room and hotel was clean but a little scruffy. The staff where polite but did not go that extra mile, as I walked away from reception the lady on reception started shouting at the young lad who was behind the desk not very professional. If you want a good value hotel in the centre of York you can't go far wrong.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

very good location, fairly quiet, large bedroom, although room itself was very warm (can't open windows very much) but hotel did let us have a fan for the night - not much use though. large bathroom, shower ok didn't use bath.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathryn716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing