We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing going for this hotel is the location”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The only thing going for this hotel is the location”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Having just returned from a 1-night stay in this hotel me and my partner both agreed that this really is a poor hotel. We had arranged with the hotel prior to arriving that we would be needing to reserve a space in their car park at the cost of £10.00 to pay on arrival. When we arrived at 5pm to check in as we'd spent the day shopping at the designer outlet my husband tried to get in the car park in which he was told when he pressed the buzzer that he needed to check-in first. So he literally had to leave the car outside the hotel to go in and mess about checking in leaving myself and our 19 month old son in the car. Luckily he was not traveling without me otherwise he'd of had the hassle of taking my son in and out of the car seat etc. When he went in he was greeted by the receptionist who had an appalling attitude towards him when he replied he didn't have the voucher to check in as it was in the car along with all our other belongings as he was just nipping in to get access to the car park. Once we'd gained entry to the car park and checked in again I was told that our car was to be moved when we check out by 11am the following day..... Had I have known this before I would of just parked elsewhere as it was already approaching the evening. We arrived at our room in which the key card took about 7 attempts to open the door to a very tired, oddly smelling room with no travel cot (i specifically requested one when booking) back down the reception to get the travel cot as the phone in the room had no number or instructions to dial reception. Once in the room which was a good size and a did have a nice view we was rather disappointed. It looked old, smelt old, above the headboard was covered in dust, the carpet looked like it needed an hoover. Me and my husband agreed it felt like we was in an care home. The bathroom wasn't any better the taps were old and as you can see in the pictures someone has posted sort of rusting. I had a shower before we headed out and saw a pubic hair around the bath edge and also someones actual hair wrapped around the tap of the bath which I just find disgusting. When drying myself with their towels I could what I thought was fish and chips when I smelt the towel I could smell an awful vinegar smell which must have been some sort of chemical they use to wash the towels. The breakfast was good it was fresh and you could get as much as you wanted, however the poor woman in charge of the breakfast area looked rushed off her feet and you could sense and see her stress which was uncomfortable to watch. The bar area which is opposite the breakfast buffet was covered by decorating sheets which was hugely unattractive. On check out we was handed a discounted car parking ticket for the local NCP car park by the rude receptionist who checked us in, for the "misunderstanding the previous day" (thats what she called it) and told if we insert it before leaving the car park we would get the rate the staff there get. When we arrived back at the NCP car park and inserted the ticket the hotel staff had given us it read "card unreadable" in 3 different pay stations. So it cost us £10.80 to get out of the car park and we was only there 4.5 hours. Total rip off and waste of time. Again we would have parked else where but with the receptionist giving us the discount ticket we thought it would be reasonable.

Good Points - Location (However they was a travel lodge 2min walk from this hotel)
- Breakfast

Bad Points - Receptionist really rude and poor mannered,
- Look of the entire hotel was really old, tired.
- Car parking a silly policy of leaving your car outside to check in to then have to go
back out to move car.
- Cleanliness was poor.

Overall this nights stay was gifted to me and my husband by my mother-in-law and we both said at the same time.. "We're glad we hadn't had to pay for it" Hugely disappointing next time will stay in a Premier Inn again as you know what your getting.

Room Tip: Don't stay here it may be cheap but you get what you pay for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    727
    350
    126
    68
See reviews for
232
993
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Got room right on river, ten mins from station and shops so excellent location for shopping, restaurants etc. Bit of updating needed but hotel clean and room was decent size, bathroom bit small though. Comfortable bed with coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast was very good although restaurant was packed we didn't have to wait for a table and friendly staff cleared them very quickly.

Nice being able to leave our cases behind reception so we could shop unhampered.

Decent glass of wine in bar £4.50 for a large one and nice to sit lookiing out onto the river.

Would definitely stay here again when next in York.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The location of the hotel is the reason I keep returning to it. It is 5 minutes walk into the centre of York.
The hotel is dated. The rooms are a good size, but in need of a lick of paint and some TLC.
Breakfast is good though and cater for gluten free diets. (GF cerial, toast and sausages).

Worth paying the extra £10 for the river view.

Room Tip: River view room for an extra £10
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljbal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We paid £10 extra for a river view and it was worth it. We requested the top floor and that's what we got. Just a 10 min walk from the train station to the hotel. The hotel is in the centre of York which is a perfect base for all the shops and sights. The room was clean and comfortable with flatscreen tv mounted on wall with Tea and coffe making facilities too. The room price was reasonable too for It's location. Would stay here again next time I'm in York.

Room Tip: request top floor river view and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

As with a lot of larger hotels the welcome is not as personal as smaller hotels. The room was quite large and adequately clean. The one major downside is the breakfast arrangements. Quite frankly the dining area is not big enough for the size of the hotel which meant waiting 10-20 minutes for a table(glad we weren't in a rush!). Also as someone else has pointed out, it is very cramped around the servery area which is a real 'health and safety' issue as people are backing into people with hot coffee, oh dear! Anyway, I don't like buffet style, I prefer to be served.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms over the entrance as the 'hum' of the automatic front door opening (at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alboy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Being born in and growing up in York this was a return trip. We booked the Queens for its location and ease of access to anywhere in York. The Hotel was clean and our room was larger than expected. We stayed for two nights and slept extremely well with all the amenities. The breakfasts were excellent and set us up for the days. Unfortunately the river had flooded so the carparking underneath the hotel was out of the question. They had made provisions with a local car park at the same rate so the inconvenience was lessened.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Queens. Although the hotel is old and a little tired looking the rooms are very comfortable and quiet and the location is hard to beat. We found the staff to be helpful when asked a question. Breakfast, which was included in our room price was really good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing