We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The location is great, the rooms are satisfactory, that's about it. The hotel says the restaurant is open till 9:00, but by 8:00 I was told to take a seat now or the restaurant would be closed. The only choice was a buffet, which has obviously been sitting there for a while. In a city with a great choice of restaurants and a great choice if beers, this place has to be in the bottom 5%. It's such a short walk into town do that instead if eating here. Previous people who said it was good food must either be used to fast food outlets or have no taste. Please, spend your hard earned money on decent food

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wappenham_Cobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    689
    332
    124
    68
See reviews for
215
941
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Spent three nights here this December as part of a coach party.... On the whole it was a very pleasant stay, the location is excellent & all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had a room overlooking the river which was warm & quite comfortable. But the bathroom let it down due to grubby walls , chipped bath & mould on grouting. Great choice at breakfast, evening meals varied , but very good carvery served on our last night. If we come back to York we would certainly stay there again .

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for 1 night December for a shopping trip to york with my mum,,,,,,great location only 10 min walk from the station. We had rooms the back of the hotel overlooking the river and york,,,,really nice rooms with lovely bathroom, We were given 2 key cards by the reception and advised this was so we could leave the heating on while we were out as the card needed to be left in to work the electric,,,really good of them. , our room was booked through super breaks and included evening meal in the hotel,,,,,this was 3 course and really nice, with a choice of meal times and although busy the service was good, Breakfast was really busy but again good service with all the usual serve yourself stuff. Plus eggs cooked to your order. We arrived early before check in was available but there was no problem leaving the bags. And again when we left bags were collected much later in the evening on the way to the station after a day in york . A would really recommend this hotel for a stay in york for location,value, comfort and service. Also we went out into york on the evening and found all the pubs really friendly felt really safe and comfortable even for 2 women on there own

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the river and york
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliloveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

On the plus side this city centre hotel has underground secure parking and even at £10 per day it is good value. The housekeeping standard could be better and the breakfast was poor. Overall the service was brisk and efficient but not particularly welcoming or helpful.

Room Tip: Noisy geese outside the river view rooms and early morning noise from waste collection and delivery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have just stayed at this hotel with my daughter for one night and would like to say what a lovely stay we have had. the room we stayed in was booked as a twin room and when we got in there we was very surprised and pleased to find we had a lovely big double bed and a single bed. the only down side of the stay was that the room was on the main road, and although we had no problems sleeping through the night, we was woken about 6am this morning by the sound of lorries and dust carts going past, but this soon stopped after a while. we had dinner in the hotel on sunday night which was very nice the food was lovely and hot and the carvery had a good choice of things to have, the only problem was that the service between each course was very rushed and quick and you did not really have time to sit and relax in between each course, and also we never got to sample the lovely Yorkshire puds as they had all run out by the time we sat down to dinner. we had breakfast this morning which again was very nice the food on the buffet was hot and well cooked, the only thing that was not good was the very runny scrambled eggs, but as everything else was good there is no need to really moan too much about it. the shower in the room was sometimes a bit too hot, and we found that if you even tried to add cold water to it was still very hot, the only other small problem is the towels in the room was very small, and I do feel that some bigger bath towels would be a good idea.

overall we enjoyed out stay and would definitely come back to this hotel again if we was in York.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nichola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed a night at The Queens hotel this week and found it very comfortable and welcoming with a handy car park underneath. Although one of us had to go in and check in and give the registration number of our car first, this took only a few minutes and was no great inconvenience as there was plenty of room to wait outside.
The bed was very comfortable, the view of the river Ouse and the ancient properties on the opposite bank was pleasant. The room had adjustable heating which was useful as often hotel rooms can be far to warm. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of continental and full English with good quality products on offer. To be honest for the price we paid I felt this was very good value and quite acceptable all round.
The location is great for walking to all the local attractions, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a river view is a must, we didn't ask for this but we did have a room with a river v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankiesnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Having just returned from a 1-night stay in this hotel me and my partner both agreed that this really is a poor hotel. We had arranged with the hotel prior to arriving that we would be needing to reserve a space in their car park at the cost of £10.00 to pay on arrival. When we arrived at 5pm to check in as we'd spent the day shopping at the designer outlet my husband tried to get in the car park in which he was told when he pressed the buzzer that he needed to check-in first. So he literally had to leave the car outside the hotel to go in and mess about checking in leaving myself and our 19 month old son in the car. Luckily he was not traveling without me otherwise he'd of had the hassle of taking my son in and out of the car seat etc. When he went in he was greeted by the receptionist who had an appalling attitude towards him when he replied he didn't have the voucher to check in as it was in the car along with all our other belongings as he was just nipping in to get access to the car park. Once we'd gained entry to the car park and checked in again I was told that our car was to be moved when we check out by 11am the following day..... Had I have known this before I would of just parked elsewhere as it was already approaching the evening. We arrived at our room in which the key card took about 7 attempts to open the door to a very tired, oddly smelling room with no travel cot (i specifically requested one when booking) back down the reception to get the travel cot as the phone in the room had no number or instructions to dial reception. Once in the room which was a good size and a did have a nice view we was rather disappointed. It looked old, smelt old, above the headboard was covered in dust, the carpet looked like it needed an hoover. Me and my husband agreed it felt like we was in an care home. The bathroom wasn't any better the taps were old and as you can see in the pictures someone has posted sort of rusting. I had a shower before we headed out and saw a pubic hair around the bath edge and also someones actual hair wrapped around the tap of the bath which I just find disgusting. When drying myself with their towels I could what I thought was fish and chips when I smelt the towel I could smell an awful vinegar smell which must have been some sort of chemical they use to wash the towels. The breakfast was good it was fresh and you could get as much as you wanted, however the poor woman in charge of the breakfast area looked rushed off her feet and you could sense and see her stress which was uncomfortable to watch. The bar area which is opposite the breakfast buffet was covered by decorating sheets which was hugely unattractive. On check out we was handed a discounted car parking ticket for the local NCP car park by the rude receptionist who checked us in, for the "misunderstanding the previous day" (thats what she called it) and told if we insert it before leaving the car park we would get the rate the staff there get. When we arrived back at the NCP car park and inserted the ticket the hotel staff had given us it read "card unreadable" in 3 different pay stations. So it cost us £10.80 to get out of the car park and we was only there 4.5 hours. Total rip off and waste of time. Again we would have parked else where but with the receptionist giving us the discount ticket we thought it would be reasonable.

Good Points - Location (However they was a travel lodge 2min walk from this hotel)
- Breakfast

Bad Points - Receptionist really rude and poor mannered,
- Look of the entire hotel was really old, tired.
- Car parking a silly policy of leaving your car outside to check in to then have to go
back out to move car.
- Cleanliness was poor.

Overall this nights stay was gifted to me and my husband by my mother-in-law and we both said at the same time.. "We're glad we hadn't had to pay for it" Hugely disappointing next time will stay in a Premier Inn again as you know what your getting.

Room Tip: Don't stay here it may be cheap but you get what you pay for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing