We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location (that is all)”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have just spent two nights in the queens hotel and may I say not our first but certainly our last stay there.
Unfortunately I feel poor management of the hotel have let the standards drop' when we checked in we received no information to say what floor our room was located or what time they serve breakfast it was a case of asking and receiving a grumble of your room is on the second floor and breakfast is ???? i am on the phone attitude of the man on reception (personal call).
we made our way to our room the room 57a small but no problem but what was a problem was the state of the room- floor dirty/bath not clean handles on bath did not want to touch due to being so dirty, bed with hair in it, when using the sink and emptying it resurfaces through the bath plug hole, ceiling stained with what looks like there was a flood in the room above and décor of room poor.
Has I said at the beginning we stayed here around 5to6 years ago and it was excellent that's why we came back.
New years day morning checking out there were a couple complaining of the shower not working properly after they left reception the member of staff who took the complaint spoke to a man who seemed to be maintenance when he was told of the problem scoffed what they have no water and laughed such poor attitude of staff.
In my opinion not a place to stay if you like to be in a clean and pleasant environment???????

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Purchased living social deal and have to say that after reading reviews I was glad to find that every time I contacted the hotel the staff were lovely and very helpful. The location is brilliant, a 2 minute walk over the bridge into York centre. Rooms were clean and wifi worked well. Bed was comfy. Parking is underneath the hotel which is charged at £10 per night and not guaranteed. Overall good stay and would recommend to anyone wanting a few nights in central York.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We purchased a deal to stay at this hotel for a weekend get away. It was very central and not too difficult to find. Parking is an issue as there is limited spaces under the hotel..we were lucky but not sure where else you would park? The room was alright, quite spacious but in need of redecorating. We had a river facing room which I would recommend requesting as the alternative is looking out at buildings. Some lovely restaurants literally around the corner if you don't want to venture far in the evening. Breakfast was average buffet self serve in a small dining area. We would stay again for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for river facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coralie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

All in all not a bad hotel.
Room was spacious enough, in fact it was very good. Noise at the front of the building could get a bit loud when the kitchen staff from opposite went out "for a fag".
The bathroom needed a good clean with the grout looking worse for wear - a quick squirt of bleach would fix this.
Location is superb.
If you do go enquire about the parking, if not on site (some spaces available) you can park at a near by (10 minute walk) at the hotel will subsidise (£11.00 per night we paid).

Room Tip: Get the on site parking and a room not overlooking the kitchens opposite. Enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevillebagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The location is great, the rooms are satisfactory, that's about it. The hotel says the restaurant is open till 9:00, but by 8:00 I was told to take a seat now or the restaurant would be closed. The only choice was a buffet, which has obviously been sitting there for a while. In a city with a great choice of restaurants and a great choice if beers, this place has to be in the bottom 5%. It's such a short walk into town do that instead if eating here. Previous people who said it was good food must either be used to fast food outlets or have no taste. Please, spend your hard earned money on decent food

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wappenham_Cobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Spent three nights here this December as part of a coach party.... On the whole it was a very pleasant stay, the location is excellent & all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had a room overlooking the river which was warm & quite comfortable. But the bathroom let it down due to grubby walls , chipped bath & mould on grouting. Great choice at breakfast, evening meals varied , but very good carvery served on our last night. If we come back to York we would certainly stay there again .

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for 1 night December for a shopping trip to york with my mum,,,,,,great location only 10 min walk from the station. We had rooms the back of the hotel overlooking the river and york,,,,really nice rooms with lovely bathroom, We were given 2 key cards by the reception and advised this was so we could leave the heating on while we were out as the card needed to be left in to work the electric,,,really good of them. , our room was booked through super breaks and included evening meal in the hotel,,,,,this was 3 course and really nice, with a choice of meal times and although busy the service was good, Breakfast was really busy but again good service with all the usual serve yourself stuff. Plus eggs cooked to your order. We arrived early before check in was available but there was no problem leaving the bags. And again when we left bags were collected much later in the evening on the way to the station after a day in york . A would really recommend this hotel for a stay in york for location,value, comfort and service. Also we went out into york on the evening and found all the pubs really friendly felt really safe and comfortable even for 2 women on there own

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the river and york
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliloveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,928 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,854 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Queen's Staith Road | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £73 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers accommodation perfectly situated on the banks of the River Ouse in the heart of the city of York. The Queens Hotel features 78 bedrooms. Guests of the hotel are welcomed in the lobby, which has a 24-hour reception. A lift provides easy access to the upper floors. Services and facilities at the hotel include wireless internet access, a brasserie restaurant and a lounge bar. Guests arriving in their own vehicles must pre book parking, nightly charges apply. All major tourist attraction and shopping is within walking distance and some nightlife/restaurants/pubs are located near the hotel. Room description All 78 rooms feature central heating and a bathroom with shower/bathtub and hairdryer. The accommodation units offer a range of amenities, including tea and coffee making equipment. Superior river view rooms can be requested and carry a nightly supplement, smoking rooms can also be requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing