We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel shame about staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel shame about staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

A gift from my daughter a night at this lovely hotel with beautiful views, first impressions were all good until at about 2am the fire alarms went off causing panic as apart from the shock nobody knew if it was real and people were in corridor in their Jamas trying to find out. Turns out someone was smoking in their room and eventually we were sent back to bed. Next morning we were groggy and not the only ones by the comments at the lovely breakfast. I went to reception because it didn't seem right that the entire hotels alarms went off not due to heat but smoke in a smoking bedroom, in our house we have heat detectors and it seemed daft that in a smoking room there were smoke detectors. Whilst enquiring to a member of staff who could hardly bring herself to look up at me, some new guests who were arriving got half a story and started saying things like best be safe than sorry and would she prefer to burn - obviously not but if also prefer not to get woken up with such a fright that my heart rate doubles . The staff showed no support towards me whatsoever and I left it as they clearly had no interest in my comments. When I got home I rang and asked for the head office contact details or managing directors name and I was told that there wasn't one and the highest person there was to speak to was the lady who had been uninterested stood behind the other uninterested lady I was talking to. Shame because I would have liked to return but wouldn't if same staff were there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    676
    326
    124
    68
See reviews for
211
918
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Queen's. I seriously didn't expect such value for money. Wonderful clean comfortable room overlooking the Ouse. Very impressed with the room, food and hotel. Excellent position for the town. Will be back Thank you

Room Tip: ask for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podrache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights and was once again impressed by the friendly, helpful staff and general cleanliness. Really good size double room, comfortable bed and clean bathroom facilities. Excellent buffet breakfast, well cooked with plenty of choice. Quite a few other guests complimented the staff while we were enjoying the plentiful food. Great location for exploring York. You do need to book the hotel car park separately but this is well worth doing. Care if there is a flood risk as this can include the car park! Can't understand others moaning on this as there are warnings on the website, at the car park, and by hotel staff who take a tel number so they can make contact if flooding is a real concern. We've stayed here previously and have already booked another return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynK631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and was very impressed with the quality of everything. The room was really nice, a good size and very clean. The food was good especially the breakfast which was a help yourself buffet, one night was carvery night where the quantity of meat was huge and excellent. The staff were helpful at all times and couldn't do enough for us.
We will definitely come back as there is so much to see in and around York which we couldn't see in such a short time.
Well done to you all at the Queens.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mcjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Just returned from staying 4 nights at the Queens, It was an organised coach trip so I was apprehensive about the star rating.















Just returned from staying at this hotel for 4 nights. It as an organized coach trip
so I was apprehensive because of the star rating. I had an excellent room overlooking the
river. The bathroom and bedroom were exceptionally clean. The food was really good, great value for money, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. I will certainly be returning
if not on a coach trip under my own steam. You have a great team there with you Kim. Many thanks for making my stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: try and have a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I booked this hotel specifically because of their private car-park, since I had valuable and heavy equipment which I did not want to have to remove from the car overnight after an exhausting day. (I don't know why they didn't point out that their car-park flooded when I booked, they DID leave a message the day I was working up there but it was far too late for me to change anything by then.)
The evening I turned up they were unsympathetic that I had to drag everything out of my car, into a lift and up a staircase into my room (4 journeys). They then gave me a 'ticket' for a city car-park, which didnt work in the machine and most definitely did NOT give me the discount that they promised, so I ended up paying £17.80 for overnight parking. They blamed NCP, who in turn blamed THEM for handing out worthless tickets! The manageress of the hotel had the bearing of a battleship ready for war, the shields were up and the guns were loaded. No allowances at all were made for the fact that I didn't get what I booked, (hotel with parking space) or at the price I booked it (around £60- actually ended up costing me around £80 with the parking). The manageress actually uttered the words 'well you shouldn't book a hotel by a river when its raining!!' Absolutely appalling attitude, whilst I realise it's not their fault the river flooded, they handled what must be a common occurrence REALLY BADLY, and made me as a guest, feel like a bloody nuisance! DO NOT rely on being able to park here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwallharpcentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

worcestershire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

superb hotel overlooking the river, lovely comfy rooms with hairdryer, large bed chairs and table , shower gel pump and handwash provided, beds made rooms cleaned daily, food best in town, brill service, top quality food, lovely dining rooms, comfy lounge overlooking river, staff friendly can not do enough for you

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missperfect64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Hotelopia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing