We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location.”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I visited this hotel after booking on line and my wife and I arrived in the middle of a sunday afternoon. The weather had been kind to us but the river was still very high and giving problems with parking underneath the hotel but the staff accomodated my vehicle in a superb local secure facility a short distance away. The room was on the second floor and faced into the inner yard area but nevertheless was bright and airy. The facilities were all there but were basic. The TV screen was quite small, the bath and shower unit were in need of renovation but were useable and adequate. The matress appeared new and was superb to sleep on. All the facilities were clean and tidy. The bar supplied good beer and the breakfast we had was the best we have had for some time. Overall the hotel staff were great,very friendly and efficient. The location sells this hotel and we have determined to revisit this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the river if possible.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JontyB843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,692)
There are newer reviews for The Queens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Service we received was very good. Staff friendly and helpful. We had dinner bed and breakfast, food was good. Hotel is central and only a very short walk into the centre. We had to park in a bcp car park as the hotel car park was flooded, this was not a problem though. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely return to stay again at this lovely hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank herbe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was a nice hotel, the view was lovely of the river and bars. Spot on for shopping as in great location. Our Room was nice, plenty of space and clean the bed was a bit hard and high for me. Breakfast was ok, hot and enough to choose from. We had to park in a different car park as the hotel car park was flooded but it was not far and we was able to pull up on the front and put our bits in our room first. I would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank GrimsbyJCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Queens late January and the room with a river view was very nice and clean, but there were only two small electric radiators to heat the room and they were not up to the job ! but the rest of the hotel was very good ,nice breakfast and very friendly staff

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevo1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a weekend break here and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the drink were affordable. Staff helpful and friendly and the location was within walking distance of the city centre.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank monkeypoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at the Queens recently and had a wonderful time as usual. We have been several times over the last few years and we would not stay anywhere else in York. We went with friends and had rooms with river views. The rooms were comfortable and spotless and the staff were wonderful. We especially look forward to the buffet breakfast.
The hotel is right on the river so you can sit in the lounge and enjoy the view. You need to book the car park when you book your room.It's a very short walk into town and York is a lovely place for a holiday.

Room Tip: A room with a river view is a real treat. Book a car park space when you book your room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryH938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A gift from my daughter a night at this lovely hotel with beautiful views, first impressions were all good until at about 2am the fire alarms went off causing panic as apart from the shock nobody knew if it was real and people were in corridor in their Jamas trying to find out. Turns out someone was smoking in their room and eventually we were sent back to bed. Next morning we were groggy and not the only ones by the comments at the lovely breakfast. I went to reception because it didn't seem right that the entire hotels alarms went off not due to heat but smoke in a smoking bedroom, in our house we have heat detectors and it seemed daft that in a smoking room there were smoke detectors. Whilst enquiring to a member of staff who could hardly bring herself to look up at me, some new guests who were arriving got half a story and started saying things like best be safe than sorry and would she prefer to burn - obviously not but if also prefer not to get woken up with such a fright that my heart rate doubles . The staff showed no support towards me whatsoever and I left it as they clearly had no interest in my comments. When I got home I rang and asked for the head office contact details or managing directors name and I was told that there wasn't one and the highest person there was to speak to was the lady who had been uninterested stood behind the other uninterested lady I was talking to. Shame because I would have liked to return but wouldn't if same staff were there.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#37 of 47 in York
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Queen's Staith Road | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £74 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers accommodation perfectly situated on the banks of the River Ouse in the heart of the city of York. The Queens Hotel features 78 bedrooms. Guests of the hotel are welcomed in the lobby, which has a 24-hour reception. A lift provides easy access to the upper floors. Services and facilities at the hotel include wireless internet access, a brasserie restaurant and a lounge bar. Guests arriving in their own vehicles must pre book parking, nightly charges apply. All major tourist attraction and shopping is within walking distance and some nightlife/restaurants/pubs are located near the hotel. Room description All 78 rooms feature central heating and a bathroom with shower/bathtub and hairdryer. The accommodation units offer a range of amenities, including tea and coffee making equipment. Superior river view rooms can be requested and carry a nightly supplement, smoking rooms can also be requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing