We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable & good experience.”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyable & good experience.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed for four nights on a coach tour package, welcomed on arrival and given room overlooking river, hotel facilities a little restricted however cannot complain about the food and staff which were excellent.

Hotel very convenient and within easy walking distance for the centre of York and it's many attractions, would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    728
    350
    127
    68
See reviews for
233
993
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife & I booked here for a two day stay in York. I thought I had researched thoroughly before making my booking at the Queens Hotel as it had a splendid, central, location for seeing the city, which it does. On paper it looks good but the reality is a lot different.

I booked a "secure car parking" space at a charge of £10 per night. When we arrived, the door to the garage was broken and remained wide open to the public until later the next day - not my idea of "secure", for which I paid.

I had paid for a "superior room" and the website said that the hotel had been refurbished in Feb/Mar - our room wasn't! Peeling paint on skirting, no safe, no fridge. Admittedly the room had a river view but is certainly less than "superior".

The river view is good but it also means that the noise from the pubs on the other side of the river carries across straight into your room, if you have the window open, and you have to because there is no air con ("superior"? I don't think so). The noise is great as long as you don't mind the screaming, singing and shouting at 2am. Indeed after our second night the Police were dredging the river outside our window for the body of a man who allegedly had jumped into the river during the night's 'celebrations'.

On our second day we were aghast to find that the maid had not cleaned in the bathroom (tide mark left on bath and sink was left dirty). My wife asked reception what had happened and they responded as if we were asking for something quite unusual to expect the bathroom to be cleaned. I wonder how dirty it would have been had we been unfortunate to book for a week?
The maid had not straightened the sheets but simply thrown the duvet over the crumpled sheets. I wish my work load was a simple as hers!

At 6pm on our first night the TV went off, as it did throughout the hotel. It was not repaired until later the next day. A notice was put up to say that they were sorry but there was nothing that they could do about it - rubbish! Either you arrange for a 24 hour call out service to maintain the service that guests have paid for or you refund guests for the inconvenience.

The restaurant is an experience. On the good side the breakfast was very good - plenty of choice and generally good produce. However the dinner was only a choice of 3 main dishes (+ vegetarian option) and they were bland and uninteresting - we ate out after that.

I felt that the dining room staff were doing a good job despite the management who must take full responsibility for the congestion and confusion with diners. It could all be better organised.

I really think it is not good value - it might be alright as a GCSE project but it certainly is not a professional hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank India_Traveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Went for a saturday night with a living social voucher , when we got there they had no knowledge of us booking even though we booked in december . left booking ref number in sheffeild so we could,nt prove we booked, the man on reception was of no good a tall as his grasp of englsih was poor.so had to pay 105 pounds for a room you would barely pay 40 for . the total indifference and lack of help was unbelievable. make sure you have your ref number or get ready . ps the sausages were terrible at breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nerosheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Everywhere was spotless, the bedroom large and very comfortable bed.
Dinner was a bit disappointing with not much choice, just 3 for each course but breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and well cooked. This hotel is often used by coach parties so the restaurant can be very busy but is managed well.
The TV's are very small and there was no glass in the bathroom.
But we had a great stay and it was so convenient being so close to the shops and other places of interest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenquy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at queens again last Saturday as it's the best location out of all the hotels. Clean but not something I would want to spend much time in due to dated appearance. 2 min walk and you are right in the centre. No taxis needed even in high heels!! Breakfast is descent too and always fresh. Very quiet inside hotel (not the place you should go if there is a massive party if you and you are going to be noisy at 4am.) seemed to be full of older people but that made no difference to us. Always use this when going for nights out/ shopping trips in York

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from the queens hotel York, it's about our tenth time and we booked 4 nites again in May, although the deco and furnishings are a little tired now, the hotel is in the most fantastic location, for all major attractions shops and bars, we always get a river view room as there's always something to see whateva the weather, the staff are polite and friendly and the bar and restraunt are welcoming, we would recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of staying in York :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the Queens this last weekend and were not disappointed,check in was fine but not overly friendly but not an issue.We were in room 68 overlooking the river which was lovely,the room was clean and comfy nice bathroom and everything you could need,yes it could have done with a lick of paint but we didn't go to look at the walls.The buffet breakfast was nice again everything you could want including a very good full English breakfast but the location was great on the doorstep to all the attractions overall good value for money would definitely go again and highly recomend

Room Tip: choose a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanetteplatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#37 of 47 in York
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing