We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for Central York” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location for Central York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from from a weekend in York and two nights at The Queens Hotel. The hotel itself is in a beautiful position on the banks of the River Ouse. The room we had was clean, comfortable and spacious. The en-suite was clean and the shower powerful and hot. The buffet breakfast was good and plentiful. The staff were courteous and helpful though blatantly rushed off their feet. Overall I would definitely book here again and would certainly recommend it for a visit to York.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FleetwoodJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    677
    327
    124
    68
See reviews for
211
921
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

After getting a living social deal we added an additional night for a break for my husband birthday. I don't know where to start with how appalling the hotel and service was. The staff are rude and disinterested. The superior room well I don't know how it's superior. And the river view room a con and a joke. You could see the river only if you balanced standing on the bed.
I've read all the reviews saying location a great plus but to be honest there are some park benches closer to the centre of York you'd probably get better service at!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank OurKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The location of the Queens Hotel in York is great. It's on the river and within easy walking distance to town and many great restaurants and pubs. We stayed here for two nights at the end of March.
On arrival we were delighted with the location, pulled our car into the open car park as we had reserved a parking space for £10 a night. We lugged our bags up the steps to reception and checked in. The reception was cool at best with disinterest shown by the staff. The receptionist asked for payment for our parking which we happily paid and then advised us that we could move our car into the car park. We advised that we had already done so as the gate was open...she then proceeded to chastise us at length for parking before we had checked in. It was rather bizarre really considering we had reserved a spot, paid for our parking but apparently got the order of events wrong.. The irony of course is that the end result should have been the same...that is we parked our car in the car park. The reality is that an inappropriate lecture about when we should have parked the car meant that we parked our car but ended up feeling annoyed. A lecture that resulted in no changed outcome but annoyed patrons!

Our room was on the ground floor.... Room 11. Right next to reception. Down the hall from the kitchen. At street level for passing traffic - foot and motorised.
We were woken at about 6am both mornings by the sound of plates stacking, pans banging and the sound of people who thoroughly enjoyed their work. While this is great to see it is not so great so early in the morning. The window to our room was at such a level that people walking past could look into the room, which we could manage by closing the curtains. The noise from the street seemed abnormally loud - the clip clip of heels, reversing beeps of trucks making deliveries etc...

The room came with free Wifi. The password was requested and a tiny piece of paper with the password provided to us. We tried multiple times to log on using the password on the paper but to no avail... I went to seek assistance from the reception staff. One of them very kindly took my iPad from me and logged in for me.... Apparently when the trimming of the very small piece of paper was done it lopped off the all important tail of the Q wave making it appear as an O.... Oh for the sake of a half a millimetre!
We entered and exited the hotel on numerous occasions.... If we managed to get a staff member to glance up that was one thing..a warm greeting? Not to be had unfortunately. When we checked out we left our key and again received a cool farewell.
We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on this.

This hotel has great potential due to its location...it certainly needs some work with regards to some of the all important small touches:
- please welcome and greet your guests as though you are interested in ensuring they have an enjoyable stay.
- Don't sweat the small stuff - don't lecture your guests for a perceived variation to your protocol (parking of car in the wrong order!) when it serves no real purpose, was not a major infringement, did not alter the outcome and occurred when the gate was wide open as it was broken with no sign to deter parking prematurely.
- Please close the door to the kitchen when the food preparation is occurring and ask that the staff remember there are people who are holidaying and trying to sleep outside the kitchen door. ( we were not the closest room and extend our sympathy to those who were).
-Please consider some method for decreasing the impact of the street noise - thicker drapes, improved glazing etc.

The location is what makes this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotels location is great but avoid the ground floor, street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed for four nights on a coach tour package, welcomed on arrival and given room overlooking river, hotel facilities a little restricted however cannot complain about the food and staff which were excellent.

Hotel very convenient and within easy walking distance for the centre of York and it's many attractions, would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife & I booked here for a two day stay in York. I thought I had researched thoroughly before making my booking at the Queens Hotel as it had a splendid, central, location for seeing the city, which it does. On paper it looks good but the reality is a lot different.

I booked a "secure car parking" space at a charge of £10 per night. When we arrived, the door to the garage was broken and remained wide open to the public until later the next day - not my idea of "secure", for which I paid.

I had paid for a "superior room" and the website said that the hotel had been refurbished in Feb/Mar - our room wasn't! Peeling paint on skirting, no safe, no fridge. Admittedly the room had a river view but is certainly less than "superior".

The river view is good but it also means that the noise from the pubs on the other side of the river carries across straight into your room, if you have the window open, and you have to because there is no air con ("superior"? I don't think so). The noise is great as long as you don't mind the screaming, singing and shouting at 2am. Indeed after our second night the Police were dredging the river outside our window for the body of a man who allegedly had jumped into the river during the night's 'celebrations'.

On our second day we were aghast to find that the maid had not cleaned in the bathroom (tide mark left on bath and sink was left dirty). My wife asked reception what had happened and they responded as if we were asking for something quite unusual to expect the bathroom to be cleaned. I wonder how dirty it would have been had we been unfortunate to book for a week?
The maid had not straightened the sheets but simply thrown the duvet over the crumpled sheets. I wish my work load was a simple as hers!

At 6pm on our first night the TV went off, as it did throughout the hotel. It was not repaired until later the next day. A notice was put up to say that they were sorry but there was nothing that they could do about it - rubbish! Either you arrange for a 24 hour call out service to maintain the service that guests have paid for or you refund guests for the inconvenience.

The restaurant is an experience. On the good side the breakfast was very good - plenty of choice and generally good produce. However the dinner was only a choice of 3 main dishes (+ vegetarian option) and they were bland and uninteresting - we ate out after that.

I felt that the dining room staff were doing a good job despite the management who must take full responsibility for the congestion and confusion with diners. It could all be better organised.

I really think it is not good value - it might be alright as a GCSE project but it certainly is not a professional hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank India_Traveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Went for a saturday night with a living social voucher , when we got there they had no knowledge of us booking even though we booked in december . left booking ref number in sheffeild so we could,nt prove we booked, the man on reception was of no good a tall as his grasp of englsih was poor.so had to pay 105 pounds for a room you would barely pay 40 for . the total indifference and lack of help was unbelievable. make sure you have your ref number or get ready . ps the sausages were terrible at breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nerosheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Everywhere was spotless, the bedroom large and very comfortable bed.
Dinner was a bit disappointing with not much choice, just 3 for each course but breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and well cooked. This hotel is often used by coach parties so the restaurant can be very busy but is managed well.
The TV's are very small and there was no glass in the bathroom.
But we had a great stay and it was so convenient being so close to the shops and other places of interest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenquy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Hotelopia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing