We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cistomer service”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I booked a room for july and realised too late that payment had already been taken out today
I asked the hotel not to preauthorise the room straight after booking butmy request was ignored. Now i have no desire tto stay there and they have my money. Not using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karenlawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Couldnt ask for a better location in York, right on the Ouse and near the original bridge. Plenty of cheap eats nearby and all the major tourist attractions are within walking distance.

The hotel itself was pretty good. We were on the ground floor right next door to the restaurant and this was noisy at times, particularly late at night. Staff were friendly and rooms were adequate. Good value for money given we got a last minute discount.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hayers111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights,15th april-17th april. Checked in by a very pleasnt man on the desk, rooms very large, could maybe do with a bit of a update in decor but were clean. Hotel is in a ideal location for central york and the breakfast in the hotel was excellent, very tasty. We found all the staff we encountered to be very pleasant. Went as 3 couples and found york to be great for a break, eating drinking and a bit of sightseeing!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank craiggoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in their apartments "Victoria Cloisters". A very good, clean well located little haven close to the main hotel for reasonable breakfast. The apartment was perfect, clean, quiet, nice bathroom and well equipped. Any niggles are cancelled out by a superb location. With the car securely parked beneath we did not touch it again until leaving. Everything is within easy walking.
Very good value and friendly staff who were keen to please. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanders1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed in one of the Luxury Executive Apartments for two nights, luxury they are not, the carpets are soiled and had a iron burn mark in the hallway, the first thing you notice as you enter.
In the bathroom (it's not en suite) there was a huge cobweb, a mirror so high my wife at 5' 2" could only see the top of her head, and taps that turn the wrong way ( ie clockwise to turn on ) which gave you quite a rush of water when you thought you were turning them off. The whole apartment, although brand new, was poorly designed with none of the walls square resulting in the bath and bed not fitting against the wall.
At reception they took £100 deposit against breakages from my account and returned it 2 days later.
The good points are the location, breakfast and the secure parking.
OK but don't pay full price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david7aylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from from a weekend in York and two nights at The Queens Hotel. The hotel itself is in a beautiful position on the banks of the River Ouse. The room we had was clean, comfortable and spacious. The en-suite was clean and the shower powerful and hot. The buffet breakfast was good and plentiful. The staff were courteous and helpful though blatantly rushed off their feet. Overall I would definitely book here again and would certainly recommend it for a visit to York.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FleetwoodJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

After getting a living social deal we added an additional night for a break for my husband birthday. I don't know where to start with how appalling the hotel and service was. The staff are rude and disinterested. The superior room well I don't know how it's superior. And the river view room a con and a joke. You could see the river only if you balanced standing on the bed.
I've read all the reviews saying location a great plus but to be honest there are some park benches closer to the centre of York you'd probably get better service at!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank OurKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,919 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,852 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Queen's Staith Road | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £73 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers accommodation perfectly situated on the banks of the River Ouse in the heart of the city of York. The Queens Hotel features 78 bedrooms. Guests of the hotel are welcomed in the lobby, which has a 24-hour reception. A lift provides easy access to the upper floors. Services and facilities at the hotel include wireless internet access, a brasserie restaurant and a lounge bar. Guests arriving in their own vehicles must pre book parking, nightly charges apply. All major tourist attraction and shopping is within walking distance and some nightlife/restaurants/pubs are located near the hotel. Room description All 78 rooms feature central heating and a bathroom with shower/bathtub and hairdryer. The accommodation units offer a range of amenities, including tea and coffee making equipment. Superior river view rooms can be requested and carry a nightly supplement, smoking rooms can also be requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing