We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD CHOICE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GOOD CHOICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights, had read the reveiws and was slightly concerned about the negative comments, BUT......our room (66) was lovely, on the top floor with a proper window (not velux) for a great view of the river. The room looked as though it had been freshly painted recently and new tiling in the bathroom, the room was clean, bed comfy. All staff were friendly and pleasant, breakfast was good. NO COMPLAINTS WHATSOEVER. if your looking for somewhere nice for dinner out and about we would recommend OSCARS (big portions) and not too expensive, cheap local beer (£1:84 a pint) and very nice too, at THE KINGS ARMS, straight over the river from hotel.

Room Tip: upgrade to a river view, if top floor ask for room 66 or 68 proper window not velux
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morag k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    677
    326
    124
    68
See reviews for
211
920
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend for one night. Just under £80 for a room shared between the two of us with breakfast. The beds were a bit hard and my friend was woken by the carpark grill going up and down (room 28). The bathroom was internal so a bit musty smelling , but clean enough. Hot tap was scalding, shower ok, shower and hand wash provided. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom but didnt use it. Breakfast was ok, my friend enjoyed hers, i'm vegan , requested soya milk and dairy free spread after booking but there was none, so i had dry cheap toasted bread , beans, mushrooms and tomatoes and orange juice , but alot of budget hotels dont even provide breakfast in the price so at least we got something to eat in the room price. Its £10 extra to park overnight but its secure and the hotel is a central as you can get. Not sure about parking and accessibility if the river floods which it does in York a few times a year when it rains heavily. On the whole okay for one night , not for more.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lechef_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The staff were all very friendly.parking was easy (£10)we were able to leave the car early 11am and late the next day until 3pm that was great as parking in york can be expensive.The location was perfect for all the city attractions.
The room was large and clean,just what you would expect for 2star hotel,bathrooms were clean.
We has the breakfast,it was good for a buffet type meal,eggs cooked to order and the coffie was nice.
My wife and I stayed here with another couple for 1 night and had no problems at all,we would stay again all I can say to people with neg reviews is go stay some place that charges £250 per night and you will be happy ,this was great for £75.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had read the reviews and was a little apprehensive, but didn't need to be. The location is great. Rooms were fine, though things like curtains, mirror and switches could do with a good hoovering and polishing. I slept well, bed and pillows were fine. The breakfast and area were very good with plenty of choice, staff were very pleasant. The car parking at £10 a night was a good bonus too. Not luxury but then not luxury prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river, fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happynana76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely location, great bedrooms. Terrible arrangements for breakfast. We were asked to wait for a table with at least 40 other people. We were still waiting 20minutes later for a table!! We gave up as we had another appointment. When we came to pay at reception, we pointed out we were unable to wait for breakfast and our morning paper ordered had not been delivered. Total indifference. Told paper had not been charged (hardly the point) and that breakfast was part of the booking, if we ha not waited, that was our problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leonBTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

england
Level Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

To be honest I wasn't looking forward to staying here. I'd been booked in by someone else, and then read the reviews......
Here's my goods, and not so goods.
Good
Location fantastic, just near the river and, away from town, the nice Bishopsgate area
Room was very big, with a double and twin
Room clean enough
Price great at £65
Reception quick and friendly

Not so good
(Big) Bed not so comfy, lots of ridges and bumps in mattress
Walls and floors paper thin. There was a couple in the room next door obviously compensating for their bumpy bed by making their own entertainment! There seemed little sound proofing in the adjoining wall. After they'd finished I could hear, as though they were in the room, an American couple loudly dissecting their friends' failings. All was very entertaining, except I needed to sleep before a big day ahead.
Breakfast was quick but a bit tasteless (as in flavour).

So, good price and nice location and people but take your earmuffs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank citybluemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is right in town on the river. I had high hopes. But hopes are dashed the minute one walks in the door. Peeling wallpaper, dirty worn carpets, feels like it was last decorated in the 1960s. My room was very small and the window looked out onto the central courtyard (everyone else's rooms). Consequently, one has to keep the curtains closed for any privacy. The cleaning of the room was very poor, especially the bathroom. Peeling paint, mould in the shower, dust on the floor and water stains on the ceiling. This place is just about okay, but really for no longer than one night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing