We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHORT BREAK”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in York
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SHORT BREAK”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My friend & I spent 4 days in York,staying at the Queens Hotel in April 2014. Our rooms were spacious & very comfortable.Tea/coffee facilities were also provided in our rooms,which was a bonus. Breakfast at the hotel was very good, with plenty on offer to set you up for the day. Hotel is close to the city centre,just a short walk. Easy access to local buses from hotel, if you wish to explore.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHEILA Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    686
    332
    124
    68
See reviews for
214
938
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked this hotel through Amazon local and were told it was only a two star rating, so we weren't expecting a lot, but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at 11am to be allowed to check in and more surprised when we opened the door to our room. It looked right on the river and the busy quayside across the river. During our stay the staff couldn't do enough for us, and the room, dinning room and all other areas were more in keeping with a four star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on a high floor, lifts are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just spent a few days at the Queens Hotel, it was lovely but the room was very humid even with the window open could do with some complementary fans for hot day as there is no air con, make sure you take one with you if your going in summer time, ALSO the thing that really got on my nerves was the constant banging slamming of the room doors, they ask you not to make any noise going to your room they could do with putting a few polite notices up for the inconsiderate people who let their door slam shut ALL the time :(. On the up side the breakfast was lovely and free wifi in the rooms

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girvan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have stayed at the Queens Hotel on a few occasions and have always had no problems. The staff are really nice and friendly.
The room was very hot, there is no air conditioning so be prepared.
I did ask for a fan but they were all given out, but managed to get one on my last day.
The breakfast is ok, but I do worry where the tea and coffee machines are
this could be an accident waiting to happen, there is not much room to manoeuvre because the food is served at the same place.
When they say breakfast finishes at 9.30am they are not kidding they
cleared the food at 9.35am so if you are 5mins late too bad.
We were down for my husbands birthday and he asked for 2 champagne glasses and a bucket of ice, they were going to charge him £3.50 for this.
This was never an issue before so don’t be so greedy “ THE QUEENS” stay friendly!!!! We want to come back…..

Room Tip: We were in room 63 which is a hot room but very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookie149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Visited here with hubbie im May on a superbreak. Room was spacious and had a great view overlooking the river, although one complaint was the state of the curtains, these had holes in the lining which at night when the lights were coming in it lit up the room.
The hotel included breakfast which had a choice of a cooked breakfast and had a range of toast, cereals and croisants as well as tea and coffee and juices. The only thing at breakfast was the room was not big enough and we did have to wait on the first morning, also they could have done with having trays to put your breakfast on as everyone was having to go back and forfard for their hot drinks.
Staff we found very friendly and the rooms were kept clean and tidy on our return to them, overall we did enjoy our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markiemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay , fantastic location with friendly staff who allowed us to leave our cases with them after we checked out which allowed us to see more of York . Nice clean room and very reasonable price so close to everything

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colinmaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great location. Rooms far too warm and humid as the internal ones face into a roof top so if going to this hotel in the summer months make sure you pick your room carefully. Would stay here again due to location. Hotel clean but reception and breakfast nothing special to say.

Room Tip: In the summer make sure you don't pick ones enclosing a lower roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 45 in York
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 45 in York
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing