We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location ”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Average hotel, ideal location in centre of York, worth paying £10 to reserve a car parking spot.
Staff didn't really go out the way to help example was check in to be handed keys and told breakfast times are on your card ! Surely 2 seconds to tell us the times wouldn't of killed her, but 2 star hotel so what more can u expect.
This hotel is all about the location.
Breakfast was eatable

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staying at the Queen's was ideal for getting to everything York had to offer. Great big breakfast that lasted until early evening. Staff helpful and sorted any niggles out with charm and efficiency.
We stayed for 3 nights and got to see everything planned leaving the car safely locked away in the hotel car park below. Will certainly stay again next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Try for one overlooking the river if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here when in York. I must say the staff were very good, and oh so helpful. Thank you for that . The rooms were lovely - clean ,comfortable and spacious. The restaurant staff were good value and the food was well presented and delicious, and lots of it. The hotel is very central and easy access to main shopping area. If at anytime I return to England and York I wouldn't hesitate to stay here, and also recommend it to others

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked for 3 nights at reduced rate .Ideally situated for all of the York attractions.The breakfast was included and we did not need any lunch after it .The quality of the food was excellent and there was enough for even the hungriest!The staff were extremely helpful and very cheerful and made our stay so much easier because they went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed.the accommodation was top class and the hotel is definitely worth another visit.Thank you to all staff!

Room Tip: Possible to book a room with a river view but all are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had a top floor room, which had a good view over the river. This is what I would call a good level private hotel. My only complaint is that I had to wait for 10 minutes, before I could have breakfast. The day I stayed, the hotel was very busy and the breakfast room was full.
Otherwise, a great hotel, very central for the shops and all of the sites. Value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at the queens for 4 nights last week on a coach trip.Quick and easy check in and pleasantly surprised with room considering we booked at the last minute.Could do with a warning about hot water in bathroom as it is red hot instantly and also could have done with net curtains as we had a room overlooking the river Ouse with crowds of people outside the bars opposite.Excellent buffet breakfast an d nice three course evening meals.Could do with more choice at the bar.Good location close to centre of city.Nice hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nigep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here about 4 times with my teenage daughter when we do our yearly shopping trip here. 15 minute walk from train station and 5 mins to all the shops and bars. Hotel rooms are starting to get a little tired eg bathroom tiles could do with grounding and dirty shower curtain. Breakfast very nice lots of choice , for the price I thought it was reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sonia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,948 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,864 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Queen's Staith Road | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £73 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers accommodation perfectly situated on the banks of the River Ouse in the heart of the city of York. The Queens Hotel features 78 bedrooms. Guests of the hotel are welcomed in the lobby, which has a 24-hour reception. A lift provides easy access to the upper floors. Services and facilities at the hotel include wireless internet access, a brasserie restaurant and a lounge bar. Guests arriving in their own vehicles must pre book parking, nightly charges apply. All major tourist attraction and shopping is within walking distance and some nightlife/restaurants/pubs are located near the hotel. Room description All 78 rooms feature central heating and a bathroom with shower/bathtub and hairdryer. The accommodation units offer a range of amenities, including tea and coffee making equipment. Superior river view rooms can be requested and carry a nightly supplement, smoking rooms can also be requested. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing