We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for central York”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good choice for central York”
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I stayed in this hotel twice before I moved to York. The location is great, no more than 2 mins to get to a bar, restaurant, shop or anything else you could want. (the location is so good that I actually ended up buying a flat in Woodsmill Quay next door to the hotel!). Following on from the reviews below, yes, there is no air con, but you find that in a lot of hotels in the UK as we're always surprised when we get some nice weather. Yes, there is some noise from the nearby bars if you have your window open, but there are a lot of people who go out in York so a lot of the city centre can get quite noisy. However, there was very little noise from neighbouring rooms or corridors when I stayed there. As for the no same sex group bookings, I actally think that this is a plus point. I am only 27, but am not always out partying when i'm away on holiday. I therefore like to know that i'm not going to be disturbed by drunken louts (girls are as bad as boys these days), and i'm sure many other people feel the same. Overall, good value for money in a city where even the travelodge costs up to £100 a night in summer.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkn2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    692
    337
    124
    68
See reviews for
217
950
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Recent two night stay at The Queens, York. Excellent hotel in a fantastic city. A short stroll from bars, restaurants, shops and all York has to offer. Slight disappointment with breakfast, but not enough to complain. Will stay again !!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

great hotel in a fabulous location. Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast was all right - tinned tomatoes and tasteless mushrooms could certainly be improved upon.
Easy walking distance to everything - Mickelgate Bar, train station, the Minster, the Shambles. Very close to some fabulous restaurants and night clubs

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltlwing64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Queen's Hotel in York in May 2010. We just did not like this hotel. The room was small, old , and not air conditioned. It was hot when we were there. The staff was not friendly and not real helpful. We wouldn' t use the glasses in the bathroom, they were water spotted and didn't look clean. The one plus was the nice breakfast that the hotel provided. It was very good.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Queens Hotel, and we can't understand why, so many negative reviews. We found the hotel to be clean and friendly, and as for IvortheEnigeer's comments, what was he expecting a Raymond Blanc restaurant, the food was of good quality and plenty of it (and I have a good appetite). The location is great, as was the value, we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric-lorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

The biggest thing going for this hotel is its location. That being said, one of the worst things going for this hotel is its location. The Queens Hotel is located right on the river in central York. It faces a number of pubs directly across from it. Everything in the old town is easily within a five to seven minute walk. However, the pubs have outdoor seating along the river and crowds of young partiers congregate in droves, drinking and shouting until the wee hours of the morning. There is no air conditioning, thus the window to the rooms needs to be left open for ventilation and, undesirably, raucous howling from across the river, especially on weekends and holidays. The hotel has no staff for baggage and during my visit the elevator was not functioning. It had a sign apologizing for it not working, indicating that it would be repaired within 48 hours. A guest informed me that he had been there for 48 hours and nothing had happened to fix it nor did it happen in the 48 hours we stayed there. I also noticed that the clean sheets for the beds that were being prepared for new guests were placed on the carpet outside each door in the hallway. I am not fond of having my clean linens on the floor. Other than the eggs and sausage, the breakfast items originate in a can – beans, fruit, tomatoes, etc. This hotel seems to be a budget tour bus destination. I would generously give it 2 and a half stars.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernporker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Rooms were a good size and the location of this hotel great right in the centre of York, the Car park was very secure, so secure we panicked a little when we first parked as we could not see the way out, nor could we see the fire Exit!!
The breakfast was pretty good, but the Dinner was a disaster, I don't eat a lot but the portions were tiny; small children would leave hungry!! most of the staff were really switched on.....but "management" were a little behind the times...enter Basil Fawlty.... go here with your grannies parents and feel right at home. It feels more like a nursing home than a thriving hotel in the centre of a beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvortheEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#23 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: Skeldergate | Skeldergate, York YO1 6DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing