We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland....You KNOW you want to come here!
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Basically stayed here for the weekend on a business trip. Used TripAdvisor and gave it a shot because of the excellent reviews. I was travelling in my train to York and can only say the location is perfect not only for the station, but also for access into the city centre, which is compact in any case.

I travel a fair bit for business and leisure and expect as a basic comfortable clean rooms with loads of hot water and a decent bed. All boxes ticked. Breakfast was perfectly decent in the adjacent restaurant and with costa coffee essentially on tap, this is a good value stay, and worthy of consideration even against some of the larger big name hotels in the area where a number of my colleagues were staying.

I cannot fault this stay. The hotel did as it presented to do, and the staff were very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaledonianTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    598
    169
    73
    24
See reviews for
398
725
61
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
old colwyn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed her for a couple of nights, fantastic choice based on location for all local attractions and facilities. A few minutes walk from the station, then 5 - 10mins walks to all the shops and minster . Quiet location, room was clean and tidy and comfortable. Staff were friendly and informative when we arrived.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

great location , a ten minute walk to the Minster via the walls or micklegate , plus a five minute walk to the station..... spotless rooms - and large by budget hotel standards .. we overlooked the car park at the back and it was really quiet .... not sure about street facing rooms .
restaurant was also good . the meal deal was a great idea , it took away the slog around the city looking for restaurants , although for 4 night the selection was limited . we didn't feel like trying other restaurants due to me feeling under the weather , so this onsite one was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just stayed for a night while spending a couple of days in york, choose this premier inn based on the location and found it was spot on:
- less than 10 mins walk from train station
- immediately adjacent to one of the main gates through the city walls
- 10 mins walk to the town centre
- the open top bus tour stops a few yards from the front door
- several shops and restaurants within a few yards of the hotel, including a weatherspoon pub and a sainsburys local shop

The room itself was good size, facing on to a quiet courtyard and with 2 beds fixed together to make a 6 foot double. Everything in the room was clean and well maintained. The reception staff were efficient and very friendly.

While in york we squeezed in as many things as we could in 2 days and recommend all of the following:
- the red open top bus tours, every 10 mins, and those with live commentary were great (didn't try one with headphone commentary). tickets last 24 hours and you get 10% off if you have tickets from an open bus tour from elsewhere
- york minster, magnificent, the tickets last a year, and free guided tours really help to understand more of the history
- the treasurers house (national trust) was interesting with room stewards in most of the rooms to explain the many fascinating items
- Jorvik viking centre - amazing to see the viking items found under the city centre, great car ride through a reconstructed viking village, and tickets last a year so great value if you can get back for a repeat visit
- National Railway Museum - entry is free so it's perfect for a flyng visit, and found it much more interesting than expected, certainly somewhere we'd go back to on our next visit

For food we had lots of snacks rather than too many main meals, as there are so many cafes and restaurants in the city centre. Two we particularly liked are:
- Harkers in Saint Helens square in the city centre, good food, and a nice romantic candle lit side room with windows over the square
-- Molly's tea room on stonegate, on 1st floor above an antique centre, friendly service and a good lunch stop with good value offers

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorkingRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Clean room, clean bathroom, large comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities, big clean towels. The 'meal deal' is good value three course meal at night and as much breakfast as I could eat in the morning meant I didn't need to eat for the rest of the day. The windows were only single glazed in our room and overlooked the courtyard were tables and chairs are located for the pub next door so may be an issue at weekend. Staff were freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonGeekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Was a bit worried about noise with this hotel being so near the train station but once inside it was a little haven,and had no problem.The room was very clean and had everything you needed.Restaurant and bar very good and not bad value.The only niggle I had was all the smokers debris outside the entrance but this seems to be a common problem throughout York.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldsod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Having stayed in a Premier Inn before had no hesitation in booking here. On arrival staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, tidy and spacious. Bed was so comfortable. Although my room overlooked the main road, I was not disturbed by any noise. Breakfast in the Premier Inn a couple of doors down was fantastic and again staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location as it is close to the station and the city centre. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionAnne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.2 mi away
The Principal York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Address: 20 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in York
#14 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located for amenities and attractions including York train station, York Minster, the National Railway museum and the historic city walls. Our York City Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. Car parking is available a short distance from this Premier Inn - for which an additional fee may be charged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City Centre (Blossom Street North) Hotel York
York Premier Inn
Premier Lodge York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing