We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights ......can't really complain .. Hotel was clean, easy to find, friendly staff, and within walking distance to all yorks main attractions.
We were given a room on the first floor for the first night, but did find this to have outside noise, so when the receptionist asked how our first night was ... We did say and she automatically offered to swap us to another room, which was great.
Parking is about £8 per 24 hours, but parking is limited .... We managed to park there 3 nights out of the 4 there.
On the whole a good base for sight seeing

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    569
    160
    71
    20
See reviews for
373
692
59
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Have stayed at this motel twice before, once with work and a second time with family, this was third visit.

Arrived early before check inn, asked to leave luggage but was able to check in, we left luggage in room and went into York to start our break.

On return to the room we noticed that the room had not been hovered, one hand towel for three people and the mugs and tea spoons had not been cleaned properly (still had coffee stains).

On the way to the restaurant on the first night I mentioned at reception about the 1 hand towel and the dirty cups/spoons. I was advised that Premier Inn now only supplies one hand towel per room with one bath towel each as policy, leaving damp towels to use in the morning, the receptionist was not bothered about the fact that we had been left with dirty cups etc.

We ate in the on site restaurant on the first night, it was early on a Sunday evening and the place was quiet, we noticed after a longish weight that three tables that arrived after us got food first, however our food when it arrived was to a good standard.

Also the third bed in the family room was very uncomfortable, in the end we asked for a second duvet cover to be put on to make it more comfortable for my daughter, but even so, the quality of children's beds has been reduced considerably and I would not recommend any family to use Premier in any more, as when the kids cannot sleep it really does ruin the break.

We did finish the meal with a liquor coffee, which arrived as a latte with alcohol in it, when we pointed out that what we got, was not what was advertised, we got a brusque "that's how we do it here". We decided not to return for breakfast, and as it happened got breakfast at the Whetherspoons over the road at a third of the price.

During the stay, the staff we met were nice and polite, but we had to clean our own cups and spoons every day as housekeeping did not bother, having to use damp towels in the morning took the shine of the stay, along with the fact the room was not hovered before, or during our stay.

This stay really came across that the attitude was that we should feel lucky to get what we got, with this now being third in a row of below par stops for me, I have made the decision that Premier Inn will now no longer be first choice motel, but last choice when desperate. The decline in standards of this place from my first stay are truly astonishing.

Room Tip: Stay at another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Ideal base location close to rail connection far enough away from the city centre for a relaxing break but still close enough to fully enjoy all the attractions of York. Rooms are clean and comfortable the staff friendly and helpful. Car parking limited and fairly expensive the only draw back for car users.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you are from North America this is not a North American style hotel, not what we expect from a 2 star hotel at best.
It is very basic....Very basic. It was clean, the staff helpful and friendly.
The bed was comfortable. My complaint; the air quality wasn't the best. I found the air very humid; there was an odour I couldn't figure out where it was from, this was with the window open & closed or using the air conditioning. Needs ventilation in bathroom.
Breakfast was included, it was fine. The location was good for getting around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptm39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

very comfortable room- very pleasant staff- within easy walking distance of centre of york- car parking is quite small and not free-good breakfast- good security- handy for many of yorks attractions-gopod value for money

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Immaculately clean and tidy, every convenience and the hotel staff bent over backwards to be helpful. Could do with a little more organisation at breakfast - restaurant staff didn't seem to know where anything was and things were placed out oddly (milk was miles from cereal, no trays available and when we asked the waitress she gave us a most peculiar look before going off to find us one, in what can only be described as a huff). This shouldn't take away from the fact that the rest of our stay was excellent so don't let it put you off.

Room Tip: From the picture it appears that rooms are right on the main road but in actual fact nearly all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyMB_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We've recently returned from a weekend away in York. The premier Inn north is only a 5 minute walk from the train station & less than 10 minutewalk to the city centre. The room was a good size & clean. The only downside was that the air conditioning units were right outside the bedroom window so a bit noisy. The staff were really friendly & was very pleased that we could leave our bags at the hotel before check in & after we had checked out. It saved us carrying our bags around york all day! All in all a good hotel & we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
Address: 20 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in York
#14 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located for amenities and attractions including York train station, York Minster, the National Railway museum and the historic city walls. Our York City Centre Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. Car parking is available a short distance from this Premier Inn - for which an additional fee may be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City Centre (Blossom Street North) Hotel York
York Premier Inn
Premier Lodge York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing