We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a B&B to find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #9 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Pam and Tony are lovely lovely hosts, very friendly and so helpful - and they cooked us the most amazing breakfasts! Our room was great, plenty of space and a good en-suite bathroom. Lots of DVDs and games for the guests to use. We enjoyed our complimentary Yorkie bars and lots of beverages in the room. The B&B is very central to all that York has to offer - only a 5-10 minute walk from the shops, Minster and Rail Museum. Nice big car parking area and they were happy for us to leave our car there after we checked out, so we could spend our final day in York without worrying about paying for a public car park. We shall definitely be going back to Apple House!

Room Tip: We were at the back of the guesthouse, closer to the railway line, but the trains didn't run at...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
There are newer reviews for Apple House Guest Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Apple House highly recommended excellent location 5 mins from railway station, plenty of eateries minutes from the guest house nice walk of 10-15 mins to the city. Bus Stop right outside. The spread at breakfast certainly gave us a good start to the day. Thanks to Pam, Tony and the girls we would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have a good view of the trains in and out of York station
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

What a really lovely review - thanks so much. So pleased you enjoyed your stay here. Room 7 and Room 6 are very popular rooms amongst the train loving community. Super views of the railway and the new signal control tower. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Extremely warm welcome! Pam came out to meet us and took us straight to our room. Lovely room - quite spacious and the bathroom was extremely generous! Our room was warm and comfortable with a tv. Some snacks were provided which is always a nice gesture. Breakfast was delicious and the waitress was very friendly and helpful. This aspect of the stay could not have been better. 15 minutes at most to walk into town, just enough to build up an appetite before tea! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks for your review of The Apple House and are so pleased to read your complimentary comments. We are so lucky to have such genuinely friendly and interested staff and we are very pleased to read your recognition of them. We all love what we do here. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

just returned from a two night stay, at this lovely B&B. We parked the car in the B&B's car park and didnt use the car until we sadly had to leave. We stayed in the family room, it was a lovely room with lots of space............ the chocolate in the room for the children was very appreciated ! The breakfast was very good served by very friendly staff. We walked into the centre , stopping in some nice pubs on the way. Will be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Room 2 is a fab room for families and is extremely popular. When in York you have to have a Yorkie Bar. I'm not sure Tony would be so generous as to give them all to the kids!! We mysteriously get through far too many Yorkie Bars in this house!!!!!!Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for our 42nd wedding anniversary in York. Pam & Tony were very welcoming and made us feel at home. We discussed their feral cat and compared our similar cat experience. The accomodation is excellent and the breakfast more than enough. The young lady serving breakfast was so bright and cheerfull and could not do enough for the guests. The location is ideal with just a 10 minute walk in to the centre of York. The car park at the rear is perfect and the owners allow you leave your car on your final day if you want to spend it in town before you go home.
We will recommend The Apple House to any of our friends when they are going to York.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay at The Apple House. We are so pleased you enjoyed your two day break and all that York has to offer. It is such a lovely city and we are very lucky to live here. Need to get Little Mo off to the vets - assistance could be required!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at Apple House for a few nights and I cannot recommend this enough...First off, so close to the central train station, and Pam will even give you a shortcut to the station via the back yard of the B & B. Lovely, cosy, very comfortable beds...wonderful breakfast spread, enough to suit any palate to be honest, from healthy to hearty with a full English Breakfast. The best bit though is the hospitality of Tony and Pam...they greet you when you first arrive and at breakfast and could not be any friendlier if they tried, although I'm sure they can! So warm, welcoming, apt to tell some hilarious stories of the B and B's past...just wonderful, would recommend it to ANYBODY wishing to stay a few days, or week in York!

Room Tip: for 2 people looking for separate beds, use the Gala Room, room 4...that was the one we stayed in...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_G1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Hi there Eric

Thanks for writing such a glowing review of your stay. It was great to meet you both and tell you so many funny stories. York is a beautiful city and we are pleased you enjoyed it so much. (Thanks also for booking direct with us - much cheaper that online)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. this was our 1st visit to york and we really enjoyed it. nothing was too much trouble as far as breakfast goes. the rooms are very warm and welcoming and kept clean Jade is a brilliand waitress and so friendly. It was great to have such a secure car park and there was no rush to move the car on our leaving day. We will definately return and look forward to seeing you all again. Thank you all very much gary and jackie

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie w W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thanks for your review of your stay at The Apple House.. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate you anniversary. When you visit us again remember to phone direct or email us direct rather than through the website booking diary as you will get a much cheaper rate. The booking agencies do charge a large commission so we have to put extra on the rate to compensate for this. Direct is always best. See you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple House Guest Accommodation

Address: 74-76 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £81 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed property privately owned with 10 en-suite quality rooms. Ten minute walk to city center and station. Excellent bus route should walking be a problem. Large private car park. All rooms have TV/DVD, tea and coffee making, toiletries. Very child friendly, garden, play area, games. Freshly cooked breakfast cooked to order along with fruit, cereals, yogurts etc. Friendly and informal. Regular clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Apple House Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple House Guest Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing