We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthy of a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Ranked #6 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worthy of a stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for 1 night in November with wife and dog. Excellent service and advice regarding which pubs and restaurants were dog friendly. Room was acceptable and tidy. Breakfast was very good. All round a lovely stay, would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    60
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
109
295
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here last weekend with friends directly with the B & B. The lady was very chatty and pleasant. We did not see her husband as he was unwell. The room was perfectly adequate and the breakfast was excellent. It is within walking distance of the town centre and all the many attractions, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked our room via laterooms.com (but well in advance) based on the ratings and photos and weren't disappointed.

We were later than expected arriving due to the lovely A1M but were warmly welcomed by Pam who showed us the room, welcome pack, gave us the wireless code and recommended some places to eat etc. and the best way to get into town including a map.

The room we had (the Orchard room) didn't disappoint, the four poster bed was a great size, very comfortable and with lovely sheets and pillows meaning we had a great nights sleep on the three nights we were there. The shower was fantastic and powerful. The room had tea and coffee etc and a Yorkie bar and biscuits and asking for fresh milk was no problem at all to our hosts.

The only slight warning I would give with regards to the Orchard room is that it is on the ground floor. This is fantastic for getting to breakfast (more of that later!) but on one night some guests had some difficulty using the locks to the front doors and made a little bit of noise (we've all done it after a couple of Samuel Smith's :-) )which might disturb some very, very light sleepers.

The Apple House breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable. Served in two rooms (the house is formerly two houses joined together), a buffet of cereal etc is provided in the larger room, was delicious.

A larger cooked breakfast is provided alongside the option of a smaller cooked breakfast and changing items wasn't an issue. We didn't see any evidence of kippers which was a good thing to us but may disappoint some!

Special credit has to go to Jane (hope that's right!) the breakfast waitress and looked after all the guests with great care and ensured that we were looked after with coffee and toast refills!

As well as the extremely comfortable stay and the delicious breakfast, the location of the B&B was great- a 10 minute walk to the town centre and free parking made the venue ideal for a relaxing trip to the beautiful city of York

We were extremely sad to leave after three nights and hope to go back as soon as possible- as I have visited York on business before, I hope I have to go back again....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilescorenwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for writing such a super review of your stay. It gives great information to all prospective guests and we are very appreciative of you positive comments. We love running our B and B and meeting everyone and we are so pleased you enjoyed your three days here. Jade, is a treasure and also loves meeting and chatting to all our guests which is quite a rare thing for a 17 year old. we want to hang on to her forever! We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

the owners were very helpful, friendly and welcoming, giving advice on where to eat and avoid regarding stag and hen parties. very warm, homely and full of apples..sweet and quirky. the house was beautiful and full of character. the car park was brilliant and the car stayed from arrival to departure in the same spot as no need to use it, such a small walk into centre, just enough to build up an appetite and work off your meal, and in a quiet location. we had tea,coffee,hot chocolate and biscuits in the room and was quite excited upon arrival to find a Yorkie to welcome us!!! yum! only little qualm we had was that we work full time and its nice to have a little lie in when you're away, we were told upon arrival that breakfast was served til 9.30, went down at 9.15 and on both mornings orange juice was empty, and on second morning there were no cereal bowls left which i had to ask twice for and no granola was left, other than that breakfast was delicious and lots of choice to suit anyone's tastes. a really, truly enjoyable stay, York was fabulous and we would definitely return to The Apple House and recommend it too despite the breakfast niggles.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thanks for your lovely review of your stay at the Apple House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning to us next time you visit York. Apologies for the lack of cereal bowls - we found 8 of them upstairs in a couple of guest rooms after Chinese takeaways had been brought back on Saturday evening! Whilst we have no objection to guests using the crockery from the dining room it is always useful if they are returned the following morning! See you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The owners were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room, including even the shower room division, had good solid walls, so there was virtually no extraneous noise disturbance. Everything we needed was there. Fresh milk for tea was brought to the room on request. Breakfast was perfect, and the service was again friendly and enjoyable. The city maps on the hall wall, and the booklet given to us on arrival were an excellent idea. Good walkable distance to the shops and restaurants!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend in York and we hope you visit us again. Remember book direct with us by phone for the best rates - booking agencies take an extortionate amount of commission, Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was made to feel very welcome and was shown a very convenient shortcut to the Railway Museum. The room was lovely and warm and the breakfast was all that I needed at the start of the day. Was especially glad of the car park which saved a lot of bother. As well as walking to the museum was also easily able to visit the Minster and the Quilt Museum. Also very grateful for the free Yorkies, biscuits and drinks for the evening. Was also fortunate in having a downstairs room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
primpops, Owner at Apple House Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
thank you so much for your super review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit to the Railway Museum.. The short cut from our car park is great and as you say everything is so easy to get to. We look forward to seeing you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here again during October half term so that all four of us could go to the NRM and see all six A4s before they go their separate ways. Pam and Tony were again very welcoming - even the waitress remembered the lads from their July visit. The boys had room 7 (top floor at the back - overlooks the railway) and the girls were in room 4 (at the front of the house). Although noisy (rail/road traffic) with the windows and double glazing both open, closing one or both made it a lot quieter. Not that this was an issue for us - we go BECAUSE of the noise of the trains, especially the night freight. Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Train lovers should ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple House Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple House Guest Accommodation

Property: Apple House Guest Accommodation
Address: 74-76 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II listed property privately owned with 10 en-suite quality rooms. Ten minute walk to city center and station. Excellent bus route should walking be a problem. Large private car park. All rooms have TV/DVD, tea and coffee making, toiletries. Very child friendly, garden, play area, games. Freshly cooked breakfast cooked to order along with fruit, cereals, yogurts etc. Friendly and informal. Regular clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apple House Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple House Guest Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing