We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming friendly small B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorgarth Guest House

Moorgarth Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moorgarth Guest House
Ranked #85 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming friendly small B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed in the hotel for a short stay in York, the B&B feels small and welcoming and has the feel of a nice family run place. The room was clean but small, but just what was needed for a basic stay and good price. The walk into York centre was nice via the river and took about 10-15 mins to walk. The cooked breakfast was a welcome surprise in the morning as this was not listed when we booked.
Perfect if your spending very little time in your room and seeing the sights.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    43
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
36
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Moorgarth Guesthouse, good location, bus stop into york 50 yards up the road saving our energy for walking round the christmas market. We stayed in a room at the front and noise level not too bad, bedroom a little smaller than we are used to but when your just sleeping there does it matter. Ensuite small and a bit of a squash and did have a few problems with getting the shower right temperature and right pressure. Good value for money, friendly people, room temperature kept us warm in this cold spell, tea and coffee in room and variety in breakfast, rooms clean would definitely stay here again and loved the christmas tree

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

My wife and I booked a 2 night stay at The Moorgarth Guesthouse when visiting York.

We were greeted by a warm welcome and were given room 2 which is at the front of the house. The room was spacious with a big bed, plenty of storage and with modern decor. If I was being picky the bathroom was on the small side and the shower temperamental but overall the room was lovely.

Moorgarth is a 20/25min walk into the centre of town but its a lovely walk along the river was gorgeous at this time of year with all the leaves on the ground.

Breakfast was lovely and the waitress very attentive.

Would definitely stay here again it has a warm, friendly, family atmosphere

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMole84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

In June 2012 I booked a 2-night stay at Moorgarth Guest House. I did not receive a booking confirmation for this booking, therefore I assumed that no booking had been made. When I checked by credit card bill at the end of July, I found out that I was charged 1696,40 kr for a booking I could have cancelled FOC until the day before the planned stay.

As it turns out, I had submitted an incorrect e-mail address at the time of booking. However, my credit card details were correct. Moorgarth Guest House must have received a delivery error message when accepting the booking. They are refusing to refund me for a booking I did not know existed and needless to say, never availed me of.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rumpetroll2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed the last weekend of September.
Downsides: We found the room a bit cold with only 1 extra blanket. The bath towels were actually hand towels and teeny weenie. The TV would not work, it could not sustain a signal and was constantly fracturing and juddering. We would have loved an early breakfast on the day we left but not an option (we had to leave early to travel home).
Upsides: Friendly owners, good location, very clean and well maintained.
Breakfast was fine, nothing exciting or particularly yummy but it fed us and kept us going until midday. Location is good but there are scores of b&b's in the area.
All in all it's fine, it's adequate. But im not rushing back anytime soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband and I stayed on 21st and 22nd of August. The room was small but had everything you needed. It was decorated nicely and very tidy. Owners very friendly, breakfast nice and location great. Only 15-20 minutes walk into centre of town and only 25 minutes from the racecourse. We would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone else who wants a reasonable price place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adlanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed at Moorgarth for around 6 month from Jan 2012 to June 2012.Have stayed in most of the rooms. All the rooms are comfortable, clean and well maintained.The heating is adequate and the owners are friendly. The wifi access used to be good only in the rooms on the lower floors but now with an additional booster this is not a problem anymore. Will certainly stay again if working in York.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SachinBhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#102 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamonds Guest House
Diamonds Guest House
#101 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#77 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
#156 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#39 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorgarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorgarth Guest House

Property: Moorgarth Guest House
Address: 158 Fulford Road, York YO10 4DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorgarth Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Moorgarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing