We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!”
Review of Warrens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Warrens
Ranked #86 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I was hunting for a fairly last minute booking to attend a meeting in the area and found Warren's online. I was surprised at finding something in York that was fairly central, with parking available for £50 and have to say I wasn't expecting anything stupendous for the price. I was very pleasantly surprised!

Received a very warm welcome on arrival from the hosts who parked my car for me in the private car park at the rear. The room was modern and very clean with a very comfortable bed. The shower was a good size, the rest of the bathroom was small but perfectly adequate.

Not being a big breakfast eater I can't offer extensive comment but my scrambled egg on toast was good and there were plenty of continental choices as well as cooked ones.

The hosts were very helpful in pointing me in the right direction for my meeting in the morning and it was only a five minute stroll to get there.

I would definitely stay here again if I happen to be in the area and it was infinitely preferable to the more expensive, bigger hotels, most of which don't have parking available unless you're on the outskirts.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trill78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    48
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
127
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton,Cleveleys NW UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Sue and I spent a night here, the road Scarcroft Road is a link road to the A59 and A64 so can be quite busy, but the Warrens has good double glazing. We were warmly welcomed and invited to park in their private car park at the rear, which is locked in the evening.
Our hosts were very friendly and answered any questions about Yorks pubs and eating places.
A very nice selection of foods at breakfast time to.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Me and my partner visited york this weekend and stayed the night at the warrens. No problems getting booked in and a a very warm welcome by the laddy on the reception desk. The room was clean and tidy and after dropping of our bags it was only 10 minutes walk before we was in the centre of york. We has normal was on the top floor and the veiw over the rooftops of york ended a good night. The breakfast was nice and we left york that night relaxed and enjoying a good weekend. The warrens is a nice place to stay and never had one bad point to review.

Dave latus

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

stayed at the warrens for the second time on Wednesday night.The standards were just as high as our first visit a year ago.A warm friendly greeting,a warm and spotless room and an excellent breakfast with baileys porridge.Warrens is a comfortable 10 mins walk into York centre and has on site parking.Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The Hotel was extremely clean the rooms were large enough and have a En-Suite which was excellent for us and well decorated.
Both of the owners were more than happy to help if needed.
The Hotel was well situated near enough to get to yet far enough away not to hear any noise.
The food was excellent and plenty full and home made too, great no plastic food real home made food what a pleasant change.
We will be going back very soon.
Can't fault the Hotel in anyway.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve3_7Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham on the Wolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We went to York for my birthday, and booked on the Thursday to arrive on the Friday. We paid £70 per night, which we were really pleased with considering it included breakfast and parking. Having read some of the other reviews, I was nervous about finding the car park, but it went fine, and while I agree it is tight, it was great to be able to leave the car secure for the whole of our trip. We enjoyed our breakfast, and having tea and coffee facilities in the room (with complimentary biscuits) was amazing considering how cold the weekend was. The only small problem we had, which we did not report as it was pretty insignificant, was that the bathroom door would never stay fully closed as the catch didn't work properly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeBlything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

A wonderful time was spent in the Warrens. My boyfriend and I came to York for a long weekend, The Warrens is comfortable, well decorated, the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
The price of the room was very reasonable and the food was delicious.
The bed was very comfortable, and the room was very welcoming.
We will definitely come back again.
The Warrens is an excellent base and the town is within easy walking distance approximately 20 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breckland2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#59 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#48 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#16 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrens

Property: Warrens
Address: 30 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrens 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to say a massive thank you to all our wonderful guests. After a whirlwind 13 years of welcoming guests from around the World we have made a decision to have a break and Warrens will be permanently closed from Christmas 2015. We will genuinely miss you. Lots of love Richard and Jenny Warren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Warrens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing