We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star stay!”
Review of Warrens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warrens
Ranked #97 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at warrens, the staff were really helpful and friendly, the room was spotless and very comfortable! Would definitely come again, as it was only ten minutes from the train station and a fifteen minute walk right into the centre. Breakfast was great and there was plenty of choice , great value for money can't wait for our next visit!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastically run & friendly b&b. Immaculate room & delicious breakfast. Lovely Norma greeted us on arrival & was very friendly & helpful. Met Richard & Jennifer at breakfast & upon check out & very nice. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay there again in the future.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NRP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This has got to be one of the best places we have stopped in from the minute we arrived till the minutes we left we could not fault anything,even giving sound advice where to eat and drink thankyou so much Stuart and Paula

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fieldy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I contacted Warren's on Friday for a Saturday night stay because the tourist information centre had told me they had released rooms for one night stays. I was greeted by a very friendly woman who immediately told me they did not take one night bookings. When I explained I had been given their details by tourist information, she apologised and she would check. On her return, she confirmed I could book a room. She took all my contact details and my debit card details. Throughout the exchange, the woman was extremely helpful and friendly and I was very relieved to have found a nice hotel for my trip away with my son.

About 10 minutes later, I received a call from a very curt woman. She told me I could not book the room because it was not available - she said it had 'just been booked' over the internet for a two night stay. I understand that it is preferable to accept a two night booking over just one night, but I would expect any hotel or guesthouse to honour a booing once the customer has made a commitment by handing over their finance details!

If this guesthouse can get a two night booking, they will have no qualms about cancelling your one night stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank MocaBrasileira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkies, Owner at Warrens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
However I must correct some details.

We DO NOT take one night bookings on Saturdays, the sweet lady you spoke of is exactly that and if you ring her up and make up a story that the 'Tourist Information centre says that you can book a one night Saturday', she might fall for it. In this case she did.

You were telephoned 10 minutes later to be informed that we DO NOT take one night bookings on Saturdays and she apologised for any inconvenience caused. I am sorry that you were offended by having your booking declined, so upset that you decided to damage my businesses reputation.

In conclusion no rooms had been made available for one night Saturday, the Tourist Information Centre have no record of your call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Can only concur with previous reviews here.We found Richard,Jenny and their staff friendly (but not intrusive),professional and v helpful with local knowledge. They were v accommodating and if we return to York we will have no hesitation in staying here again. The parking is a little difficult to negotiate but at least when parked the city is within walking distance. Breakfasts was v good and various choices.Just ask. The room we had was immaculately clean and there was no hesitation in using the shower/bathroom area.The only minus is that we had the top room and the WiFi signal there was weak.Apart from that everything else was v v good. Richard & Jenny were on hand to provide much information on local places of interest.Nothing was too much.Bed was v comfortable.

Room Tip: Top room v quiet.Bed v comfortable.Bathroom (shower but no bath) v clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Good location for all the attractions of York. Secure parking means you save a fortune as you can walk to them all in about 15 mins. Yes, it's not the easiest car park to get in and out of, but worth the peace of mind. Our room was at the top of the house with a view to the towers of York Minster. It was big enough for our stay to attend a conference. Everything was clean and neat. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was wonderful. There was a wide choice of fruit and juices, plus cereals and yogurts. Besides the full Yorkshire breakfast, poached eggs, scrambled eggs and other choices were available. All cooked to order. Better than some so-called 5 star hotels. Would come back here as first choice if coming to York again. As others have said Norma is a treasure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely friendly Guest House with own secure car park, although getting in & out of it an interesting experience! Once parked we didn't need car again as everywhere within walking distance.
Friendly welcome from owner Jenny.
Twin room at back of house was small but very comfortable.
Very quiet at night, even with windows open (it was surprisingly warm in York for September). Great full English breakfast, cooked by Jenny's husband, Richard, that set us up for the day. Nice breakfast room in conservatory. Cereal, fruit, yoghurt also available.
Thanks Jenny & Richard for lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janandbrian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.4 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
6.2 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrens

Address: 30 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrens 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to say a massive thank you to all our wonderful guests. After a whirlwind 13 years of welcoming guests from around the World we have made a decision to have a break and Warrens will be permanently closed from Christmas 2015. We will genuinely miss you. Lots of love Richard and Jenny Warren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Warrens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing