We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional”
Review of Warrens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Warrens
Ranked #87 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Comet, Qld
Level Contributor
260 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This B&B is great value. A lovely building and friendly and efficient staff. Our room was huge - plenty of space to spread out. Breakfast in the lovely breakfast room was perfectly cooked to order. The only small quibble would be that the WiFi wasn't good in the room but was fine downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    48
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
127
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

we visited the warrens for the third time on 31 October which in its self speaks volumes.The location is very good being an 8 minute gentle walk to city centre.There is off street parking.The rooms are quiet clean and well furnished.The breakfasts are splendid,especially the porridge with baileys!Richard and Jenny make you feel welcome and are always ready to assist your stay with their local knowledge.Always good to discover a favourite place maintains its standards.We will definitely make a fourth visit in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at The Warrens for 3 nights.

Jenny and Richard were very helpful and Norma the breakfast waitress was very attentive and friendly.

We would definitely use The Warrens again and try the boozy porridge next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10, bright, comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Only started looking 2 weeks before our stay - 5 nights - and many places already booked. We chose Warrens partly due to location, and also fact that our car would be safely in their private car park (gates locked at night).Actually only used the car 1 day for trip to coast.

We had 1st floor back (2 singles) very clean, quiet & comfortable. Teamaking + hairdryer. Lovely and satisfying breakfast including fresh fruit, seeds,yoghurts, cereals, good choice of cooked breakafast incluidng veggie options. Nothing was too much trouble.Friendly professional owners with loads of local info, if asked.

Location just outside city walls (10 mins to city), and also 15 min walk max to Railway Museum (which was great). Easy from Warrens to drive in and out of York, rather than being inside city walls.

If you do ever drive in to city centre, be careful not to go over Lendal bridge and incur a charge! http://www.yorkpress.co.uk/news/10723767.Lendal_Bridge_fine_fears_for_visitors/ the day we drove to coast, we may have done this in error, following our sat nav. Just hope we don't get a fine in the post!

We would stay here again and recommend it wholeheartedly. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 first floor back, 2 singles, quiet, 1 step down to loo from shower room. Glad ot to have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at warrens, the staff were really helpful and friendly, the room was spotless and very comfortable! Would definitely come again, as it was only ten minutes from the train station and a fifteen minute walk right into the centre. Breakfast was great and there was plenty of choice , great value for money can't wait for our next visit!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastically run & friendly b&b. Immaculate room & delicious breakfast. Lovely Norma greeted us on arrival & was very friendly & helpful. Met Richard & Jennifer at breakfast & upon check out & very nice. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay there again in the future.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NRP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This has got to be one of the best places we have stopped in from the minute we arrived till the minutes we left we could not fault anything,even giving sound advice where to eat and drink thankyou so much Stuart and Paula

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fieldy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#52 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#56 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#48 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#17 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrens

Property: Warrens
Address: 30 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrens 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to say a massive thank you to all our wonderful guests. After a whirlwind 13 years of welcoming guests from around the World we have made a decision to have a break and Warrens will be permanently closed from Christmas 2015. We will genuinely miss you. Lots of love Richard and Jenny Warren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Warrens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing