We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a jewel !”
Review of Warrens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Warrens
Ranked #87 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a jewel !”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Warrens is a Bed & Breakfast Guest House providing a better experience than many 5* hotels. Comfortable clean accommodation, excellent breakfasts in the light and airy conservatory, and friendly welcome on arrival. All at very reasonable prices. And all within easy walking distance of this attractive city centre. What more could you want.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OffshoreAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    48
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
127
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Upon our arrival at Warrens Guest House we received a very warm welcome from Norma. Warrens proved to be the perfect place for our weekend in York, its about a 15minute walk to the city centre and the local pubs and restaurants provide a good alternative to the City centre where it can be extremely busy, for spending your evenings. Our room at Warrens was comfortable and clean and we were supplied with an excellent breakfast in the mornings. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonsigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights last weekend with my husband as we had a special offer from a local restaurant (31 Castlegate - also highly recommended!) and needed somewhere local to stay. We booked Warrens via laterooms as it looked the best value option available, and we weren't wrong!

The location is fantastic, with several restaurants and late-opening shops within a couple of minutes walk. It's also a very quiet location but offers a lovely walk into town.

We arrived late (7pm) as we'd come from Sheffield after work, and received a very friendly welcome from Norma, who told us where everything was. Our room was large and lovely (on the ground floor with a big bay window) and was spotless and very well appointed with a big, comfy bed, lovely warm duvet and plenty of room to store my massive amount of shopping!

Breakfast was served in the bright, airy conservatory by friendly staff and is cooked to order. It was fantastic quality with thick smoked bacon, pork and leek sausages, choice of eggs (all fresh and free-range), fried bread (one of my favourite guilty pleasures!) and other bits and pieces. My husband had the special one morning - scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on wholemeal toast, which was also really nice. I can also recommend the local jam and honey which are on the sideboard - the raspberry and rhubarb was gorgeous!

I can't fault Warrens at all and wouldn't want to try. We'll definitely be back - the only reason I haven't booked it already is because it's full for our next planned visit, to see the races in July.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spookyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned from a recent stay at Warrens; fantastic little B and B perfectly located within a short, 10 minute stroll, to the City Centre.
From the minute we checked in to the minute we drove away no complaints whatsoever; off road, secure parking, fantastic full english breakfast, lovely, helpful staff, spotlessly clean room and a most comfortable bed.
We would certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends and family without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonValkyrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here last weekend for 2 nights and it was perfect. We had a really warm welcome, the room was spotlessly clean, breakfast was lovely, and the location was great. We would definitely stay here again next time we visit York.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spikeandicey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I like The Warrens a lot.Totally does the job for me.I like the lack of frou frou doileys and nick nacks so ever present in a lot of York B n B's. It's clean, and I appreciate a full mirror in the bedroom, and decent lighting.There were toiletries, and a hot shower. It was quiet, and a short walk to the centre.
Everyone is friendly here, and the breakfast is great. I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireFuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This guest house was nicely decorated and cosy. The people were welcoming and as soon as we arrived they marked on a map the best places to visit and where to eat. The breakfast was really nice and the conservatory was bright and pleasant. They went out of their way to help us no matter what. It was only a short walk to the centre and quiet at night away from busy streets. If we could give it more than 5 stars we would. When they found out it was a special occasion they left a note and chocolates in our room which we thought was a lovely touch.
Richard and Jenny are what all hosts should be like. :) We would definitely stay here again. The price of the room was reasonable with a nice view. We were on the top floor which meant we had a nice view of York Minster.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a bit of a walk up stairs but nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#57 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#46 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#14 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrens

Property: Warrens
Address: 30 Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrens 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to say a massive thank you to all our wonderful guests. After a whirlwind 13 years of welcoming guests from around the World we have made a decision to have a break and Warrens will be permanently closed from Christmas 2015. We will genuinely miss you. Lots of love Richard and Jenny Warren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Warrens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrens Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing