We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The previous reviews are correct.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aaron Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aaron Guest House
Ranked #122 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The previous reviews are correct.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

After reading all the reviews for this property, we booked up for the Easter Weekend. Julian was there to greet us, even though we were 30 minutes early, the parking quickly sorted, then up to the room. Rooms was spotless, ample size, with all you need for a short stay. Breakfast was spot on, great service. From start to finish, The whole weekend was great, thanks to Julian, and staff. Would not hesitate to visit Aaron Guest house in the future. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Back room maybe quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    36
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
77
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

My partner and I booked to stay at the Aaron Guest House on a Monday night in March. On arriving at the Guest House, we were welcomed by one of the friendliest people we had ever met! Julian (the owner) couldn't do enough for us. He asked us what time we would like breakfast the following morning and also gave us a permit to park outside the Guest House.

Our room was lovely, with ample towels and tea and coffee making facilities. He offered us a choice of breakfast, which we both opted for the full English with tea/coffee. It was delicious!

Julian allowed us to keep the permit for the second day after we had checked out, saving us money on parking the car for the afternoon. He said just drop it in when we were leaving, He offered us advice on wedding venues, as we were over looking at different places and even suggested suppliers that could help us.

His relaxed and friendly personality really does make your feel at home and that you want to offer him your custom again.

What a lovely chap and great little place, in a great location. Thanks again Julian!

Lindsey and Mark

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

My family and I stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting my daughter. We all found the guesthouse to be very clean, with Julian the host, a very welcoming and friendly person. The only issue I had with the guesthouse was the showers. It is a pet hate of mine that lots of these b&bs do not have adequate shower facilities ie a shower that is strong enough to have a decent shower under. Both my wife and daughter who have long hair found it extremely difficult to be able to wash their hair. Otherwise the breakfast was good and the situation to York City was about a ten minute walk which was not too bad. Would I stay again - sort the showers out and I definitely would. To be fair I never raised the problems with the showers with Julian and I am quite sure he would have tried to sort something out.

Room Tip: The twin room at the back was very warm as the boiler is situated in there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob123Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

This beautiful guest house was like a dream for us: excellent service, cosy, warm and clean room, wonderful breakfast (continental and full English breakfast in a beautiful dining area) and the location is also ideal (less than 10 minutes to walk to the Minster). Julian was so helpful and kind and we felt like being at home. Simply a great place to stay and we are hoping to come back soon!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DioelaMadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We had a lovely room, very clean and comfortable. The guest house is in a nice area, a little walk from the centre but not too bad. The owners are very friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We spent a night here whilst looking at wedding venues in York. Julian was extremely personable and made us feel very welcome. The room we stayed in was comfortable and the breakfast was very good the next day. Its location is excellent, it is only a short walk into York. Would stay again and would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Just returned today from an overnight stay in this guesthouse. Easy place to find after receiving directions from Julian (5 minutes from A19) and in a great location for York centre - only a 10 minute walk to the Minster and Shambles as other reviewers have said. Stayed in a family room with 1 double and 1 single bed - the room was small but nice and clean which is important to me. Ensuite shower room tiny but practical. Breakfasts lovely and Julian could not of been more helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Beckett Guest House
Beckett Guest House
#139 of 192 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#33 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#78 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Guest House
0.0 mi away
Bronte Guest House
Bronte Guest House
#21 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Guest House

Property: Aaron Guest House
Address: 42 Bootham Crescent | Bootham, York YO30 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:3 star — Aaron Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tori and Julian Jones extend the warmest of welcomes to all their guests at the Aaron Guest House. Set in a tranquil location, within walking distance of the city centre of York, the Aaron Guest House cannot fail to charm all guests with its elegant style and classic comfort. This charming family owned and run double fronted Victorian guest house is a luxury home from home for business and leisure travellers alike, where guests feel relaxed and invigorated after their stay. Aaron Guest House is renowned for its exceptional quality and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Aaron Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing