We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in York.”
Review of Aaron Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aaron Guest House
Ranked #126 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2013

On arrival at our Guest House we were met by the owner who was very welcoming and showed us to our room. Our room was at the back of the house and was clean and well decorated, there was a small en-suite with a shower but using the toilet was a bit of a squash as there was'nt much room. The bed was comfortable but the duvet was a bit lumpy. The only thing I disliked was that the boiler was in our room and I don't like boilers in bedrooms. Our breakfast was well cooked and most enjoyable. The Guest House is within a short walking distance to York city centre and the shops. This was a very good clean Guest House with good food and a very helpful owner. I would recommend this Guest House and would stay here again if in York but not in that same bedroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Aaron Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Last minute stop over for work at a busy time of year for the tourist trade but Julian squeezed us in for a single night and it was ideal.
Just a short walk from the centre in a quiet residential street featuring an odd array of architectural styles. Parking available on the street. Plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby. Great nights sleep and en suite shower helped me wake up for an early start. Good selection at breakfast. Great value and service. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Just book well in advance as accommodation in York is hard to find especially in high season or when...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Well placed, you can go walking to the main points of interest from here. Near the train station if you know the short way to arrive there. Friendly Staff. Clean enought. Good breakfast. York it´s a very turistic place so it´s difficult to find a hotel even in low season.

Room Tip: The room number 1 is on the basement. High ceilings, wide and very lightly.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROCAOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Aaron guest house for two nights. The staff are excellent- warm, friendly and very helpful. There were only 4 parking permit for six rooms but the staff arranged on road parking on the next street. The full English breakfast in the morning was simply great. The rooms are smallish (standard for English guest houses) but clean. The town centre is only 15 mins walk from the guest house. I cannot remember when was the last time I had such a great host!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thshoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My friends & i have just returned from a stay at Aaron after a weekend at the races!! The service was fantastic at Aaron, breakfast was especially yummy!!! The guest house is just a short walk into the centre in a perfect quiet location . Everyone also commented how comfy the beds were!! I would love to visit again soon!! Also have to mention Rustique restaurant in York excellent place well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahjohn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Having visited York many times now and staying in many of yorks guest houses and hotels ,covering the full spectrum of price ranges.Myself and my husband both agree that from the minute we entered the Aaron we where made to feel at home by Julian who is the perfect host and gentleman.
The price could not be better, the rooms where beautiful, clean and the bed more than comfortable.We would have no hesitation in recommending the Aaron guest house to our friends and family and will be sure to use the Aaron each time we visit York in the future.
James and Laura

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamessteele691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

After reading all the reviews for this property, we booked up for the Easter Weekend. Julian was there to greet us, even though we were 30 minutes early, the parking quickly sorted, then up to the room. Rooms was spotless, ample size, with all you need for a short stay. Breakfast was spot on, great service. From start to finish, The whole weekend was great, thanks to Julian, and staff. Would not hesitate to visit Aaron Guest house in the future. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Back room maybe quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#76 of 194 in York
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beckett Guest House
Beckett Guest House
#169 of 194 in York
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.0 mi away
Bronte Guest House
Bronte Guest House
#16 of 194 in York
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Guest House

Address: 42 Bootham Crescent | Bootham, York YO30 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:3 star — Aaron Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tori and Julian Jones extend the warmest of welcomes to all their guests at the Aaron Guest House. Set in a tranquil location, within walking distance of the city centre of York, the Aaron Guest House cannot fail to charm all guests with its elegant style and classic comfort. This charming family owned and run double fronted Victorian guest house is a luxury home from home for business and leisure travellers alike, where guests feel relaxed and invigorated after their stay. Aaron Guest House is renowned for its exceptional quality and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Aaron Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing