We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully friendly, wonderful staff.”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfully friendly, wonderful staff.”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We spent a lovely weekend in a great 'family' atmosphere. The staff were efficient and friendly despite the demands of a large group with many diverse requirements.
Excellent food and excellent bottled beer from a local brewery. We would all come again.

Room Tip: Room 3, Bay Window, View of the Minster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBCSecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for the review. It was great to host the group and its diverse and interesting members. You have an article in the local York Evening press tonight and HHH gets a mention. ALL the group came and thanked me and the kitchen staff personally as they had had such a good time. The gala dinner went well and we look forward to seeing you all sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    502
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
239
871
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This has now been our third stay at Hedley House and once again another excellent visit. The hotel is always a good option for a stay in York. It's position is convenient and quiet with just a short walk to the city walls or the river. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are superb, freshly cooked and served with a smile ! i would recommend this hotel for families, couples and small groups .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnefc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2011

As a frequent guest to HHH, I am always equally impressed by how the staff handle and serve a group of 40+ students and leaders. All very helpfull, rooms very clean and bathrooms of top quality. We will be back next year

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

had one night stay in room 8,excellent service with very friendly staff.the evening meal was suberb. we will be returning without a doubt sleeped like a log.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laing_david1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. See you soon

Greg and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed in the hotel for three nights, right from our first contact with the staff they were friendly and helpful. The hotel has its own free car park which is a rareity in York. It was in an ideal location as we were able to walk into York during the day and evening in just a few minutes. The room was clean and warm with contemporary furniture a comfy sofa, large flat screen tv and a fantastic shower.There was plenty of choice of fresh local ingredients at breakfast and it was cooked beautifully. We would recommend the Hedley House Hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirelass0459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Really the food & service was supurb. As a former restaurant owner i was extreamly impressed wit this aspect of my stay. Locallity, just a short walk from York Cathedral & city centre, it was a blessing that the hotel a plenty of parking available. My room was comfortable and spacious. I wouldn't hessitate to reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterNilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Highly recommend for friendliness,comfort and cleanliness could not ask for anything else.Rooms very well equiped and beds great.The food is first class and all the team treated us to an extremely enjoyable week.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraderLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing