We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Nice clean rooms, very quiet area, staff very pleasant, breakfast was good. York minster and shops within easy walking distance. Would stay here again when visting york.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackdog41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    492
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
233
850
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed one night at Hedley House without breakfast. The decor of the hotel is pretty old fashioned and tired, where renovations have been performed they appear to have been done on the cheap. That said, the receptionist was friendly, the bed was comfortable and the room fairly quiet, so can't really complain. Probably wouldn't choose this hotel if re-visiting York.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_H099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Sorry to hear you were unimpressed with Hedley House Hotel. It is disappointing to get such reviews especially when the latest renovations cost close to £80,000.

If you or any other guests are unimpressed with the room, let us know and I will show you around until we find a room that you do like (subject to availability of course). We would welcome any inspection and take pride in our recent upgrades.

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

The location is within walking distance from the town centre in a quiet street. All the rooms are unique, but with a lot of stairs this is not the best choice for people with the need of a wheelchair.
Helpful and wonderful staff who take care of all your needs. Delicious food!
The only thing lacking is a big conference room/living room where groups can meet in the evenings.

Room Tip: Check the photos on their web page.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjossang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Great to see you all again. It is a bit tricky seating 68 for a social gathering in a place like ours but hopefully the new dining room will help. See you next year.

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

We spent a lovely weekend in a great 'family' atmosphere. The staff were efficient and friendly despite the demands of a large group with many diverse requirements.
Excellent food and excellent bottled beer from a local brewery. We would all come again.

Room Tip: Room 3, Bay Window, View of the Minster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HBCSecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for the review. It was great to host the group and its diverse and interesting members. You have an article in the local York Evening press tonight and HHH gets a mention. ALL the group came and thanked me and the kitchen staff personally as they had had such a good time. The gala dinner went well and we look forward to seeing you all sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

This has now been our third stay at Hedley House and once again another excellent visit. The hotel is always a good option for a stay in York. It's position is convenient and quiet with just a short walk to the city walls or the river. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are superb, freshly cooked and served with a smile ! i would recommend this hotel for families, couples and small groups .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnefc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

As a frequent guest to HHH, I am always equally impressed by how the staff handle and serve a group of 40+ students and leaders. All very helpfull, rooms very clean and bathrooms of top quality. We will be back next year

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank havkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

had one night stay in room 8,excellent service with very friendly staff.the evening meal was suberb. we will be returning without a doubt sleeped like a log.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laing_david1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. See you soon

Greg and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. Gym, 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking. Electric car charging station free for residents Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing