We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, Excellent location... recommended”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly, Excellent location... recommended”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We booked at the last moment before a bank holiday. Friendly staff, clean and spacious room, parking in the back yard. Large telly (5 channels), high-quality English breakfast (but try the excellent home-made granola). Not the cheapest, but good value nonetheless.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galimetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    502
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
239
871
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HULL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Hotel spotless-lovely room-lovely breakfast-lovely staff-LOVELY!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VENTIHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
"Lovely" :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My mum, auntie and myself stayed 2 nights. We arrived early and they were still cleaning the room. They said we could certainly put our bags in the room. While putting our bags in, it was interesting to see how thoroughly the room was being cleaned. They were doing an excellent job. The whole staff were absolutely excellent, suggesting places to go and accommodating every whim. With parking on site and the Minster, river, city walls and restaurants 5 minutes walk away, you can leave the car and walk to everything easily. The breakfast was grilled, no nasty grease to be seen and the variety marvellous. The evening meals looked delicious also although we had already arranged to eat in town so missed out on those delights. You could not beat this hotel for value and ambience. We had a lovely warm glow when we left and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth-geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Thank you for such a nice review. It is great to hear that we are achieving our business goals.

We look forward to seeing you next time you visit York

Greg and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2011

got there in time for tea food was worse than school dinners/came down from scotland and starved til i got home .breakfast scrambled eggs were still runny bacon warmed and toast was edible but cheap bread .used to be a cook and wouldnt serve that without being slightly embarrassed. apple crumble no topping pizza browned til unrecogniseable. service was lovely young man was so nice you didnt want to complain but wanted into kitchen to show them how to feed kids. rooms were ok but 23 wasnt big enough to swing a cat

Room Tip: room 26 nicest room rest are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacabecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 28 May 2011
Wow….When you and the group left Hedley House and I personally asked you if everything had been OK and got a very positive response I did not expect to receive a review like that.

Our scrambled eggs are cooked to be moist and creamy and not watery. We use Hovis bread (seed sensation and their white bread) which comes at a premium

When I saw the homemade apple crumble in the kitchen it had a lovely golden brown crispy topping. Sorry if when portioning out yours the topping was missed.

The pizza that you “requested” for dinner also looked OK to me, and if you want more or food is not cooked to your liking please don’t hesitate to ask for a bigger portion or more.

Standard double rooms used for single occupancy are not as big as our other rooms but room 23’s location lends it’s self perfectly for school groups as it is within ear shot of the students and you are therefore able to monitor your group efficiently.

We welcome any inspection from group organiser's to single travellers and warmly receive comment and feed back. Sorry you had to leave and do it this way as it does not give me the chance to rectify any of your issues.

We would like to host your group in the future to make amends and look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2011

arrived in york looking for a good hotel found this one with in 10 mintues and it was well worth it clean dinning area spacious and modern our room was spacious high ceiling large ensuite and the best night sleep ive had for a long time. the breakfast was well worth it and i recomend this hotel to any one who want to stop here for a couple off nights.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Hedley House. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The tourist board inspector was staying at the same time and he has awarded us a 3 star rating....! This is great news and a real credit to my staff who really go the extra mile to make customers feel welcome and enjoy their visit to York

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The service we received was brilliant. Made us feel very welcome.

The room was a good standard with a lot of space.

I wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

staff are professional, friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Walking distance from town

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nabeelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Hedley House and it is great we did our job...!

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
607 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing