We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused how it is ranked so highly on TripAdvisor”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

No major problems, but I can't see any reason that this would be the 5th best hotel in York. The plus points were friendly staff, free parking, an easy walk to the city centre and a good breakfast.
The negative points were no air conditioning (room was very hot at night), intermitent hot water, and generally everything looks a bit worn.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niceguy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
There are newer reviews for Hedley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

My wife and I, joined by my daughter and her husband, enjoyed every aspect of this well located and very well run hotel. The owners are very keen to make you feel like a guest, not just a customer. Large clean rooms, a modern bath and a very good breakfast are a treat to find. Couple that with a less than 10 minute walk to the Minster and this is an excellent place to stay in York.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I had a very nice time with my family and my friends here. Everybody is very polite. We organized a dinner for 40 people and all my friends enjoyed the food and the service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luigi_il_bergamasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

excellent location.
staff very helpful and kind
good breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FrancescoCrocetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed here with a group of work colleagues from all over the country to attend a conference in York.

From the minute I arrived at the hotel everything was great - 2 lovely ladies on reception and straight away I was offered a map of York and shown the easiest route to get to the town centre which was a mere 5 minute walk away.

I was then SHOWN to my room which is a first as anywhere I have stayed I have just been pointed in the right direction but I was taken straight to the room and shown everything and reminded that should I need any more tea, coffee etc just to call reception and this would be dealt with and it was no trouble at all for them to get me fresh milk for tea.

The room was beautiful with one of the biggest bathrooms I have ever seen in a hotel!! Everything was spotless and there was a great guest information book with everything you would ever need to know about the hotel and surrounding area and it was very informal with quite a few quips in it which made me laugh!!!

We were booked for dinner at 7.30pm and there were approx 30 in our group and on looking in the other areas there were quite a few other guests eating at the same time so my hats off to the chef for the meals he produced out of that tiny kitchen!!!

The Food was excellent and I tried pigeon for the first time and have to say that it was cooked to perfection and i figured the hotel was far enough away from Trafalgar Square for them to have captured it themselves!!!!! :) I then had the king prawn risotto and they certainly do not skimp on their prawns like so many places and again the risotto was cooked to perfection as were the prawns.

I made the decision at dinner to have poached eggs for my breakfast as one of my colleagues had asparagus and poached eggs for a starter and the eggs looked so good I was nearly swapping with him!!!

And I can tell you that I wasn't disappointed by my choice at breakfast as there was an abundance of variety and nothing was too much trouble for them.

I would heartily recommend this hotel as a perfect base to explore York and also as a perfect place to have a meal.

This was the first time I had been in York but will definately return in the very near future with my own family and I won't be looking for anywhere else to stay!!

Thank you for such an enjoyable and relaxing stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Thank you for posting such a great review.

I am thrilled to have such a nice review written about Hedley House Hotel.

Today I received notification that the English Tourism council have recognized our efforts and awarded us a 3 star rating for Hedley House Hotel and a 4 star rating for Knowle House apartments.

Now we have to be even better!!!!

Thanks again

Greg Harrand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

A lovely, clean, well run, b&b. No breakfast included though. But when we did have the breakfast it was very nice. Parking available to the rear of the building. An ideal base.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I brought a school group to stay for 4 nights in May 2011. We had a mixed group of S2 (12-13 year olds), and it was an excellent base from which to explore the city - we could walk almost everywhere! The staff were fantastic - very helpful with the myraid of strange dietary requests from the students; the food was incredible and the service great! The rooms were great, very comfortable and easliy accessed for all of our students. All of the staff on the trip said they would definitely be back - without pupils! Just lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smw010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Great to hear. See you next year

A poet in the making maybe......???!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £86 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing