We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very helpful, and good value.”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed here alone during a great spell of sunshine and spent time in the back garden just chilling and reading. The room/apartment was nicely decorated, laid out well and had everything needed. The receptionist was extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly, and offered great advice. Breakfast could be a little frenetic but that was because they had a school trip staying! Food was very good both at breakfast and in the evening (had dinner there one night). All in all a great place and would stay again as it's close to the City, easy to walk in to museums, galleries etc and has great shopping too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for a 3 night stay in August 2011. The location was great for visiting York, 10 minutes walk from the Minster and about the same to the Railway museum. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was definately a highlight, really tasty cooked breakfasts and not swimming in grease! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only negative was the 2 evening meals we had (hence the rating of 3 out of 5). The restaurant area has no music to provide a little ambience (strangely there was music for the breakfast area), and unlike breakfast service, it all seemed a little disorganised e.g. both times staff didn't know what the soup was, both times some courses on the menu were unavailable and this wasn't communicated until we tried to order the course. The quality of the food was average, and I was a little disappointed that for 2 of the courses I ordered over the 2 meals, something was missing (although I didn't realise until after eating, brown bread with the smoked salmon parcel and potatoes with the salmon salad).

Overall I would definately stay here again, although I wouldn't dine in the evening again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Hotel staff very friendly, good size room, very comfortable bed and great breakfast. Really enjoyed the stay and will definitely go back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuela64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We decided on the tues morning that we were going to york for 5 nights hedley house had an self catering apartment to suite our needs. We were highly delighted with the location and cleanliness of the apartments. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. The staff were extremely helpful and on many occassions sourced information about activities that we wished to carry out while in york nothing was too much trouble for them especially the two sarahs.The sauna jacuzzi and bbq area were great to relax in after a days sightseeing. Many thanks again for a delightful stay we will definetly be back. The hendry family Turriff

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Excellent location for all city centre attractions, rooms were clean and spacious although decoration was a little dated, Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order and the breakfast room was light and airy. Greg and the maps were very helpful. Parking facilities available and you can pay a supplement if you want to stay a bit longer to enjoy the city.
Would definitely reccomend and stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had a very good stay at Hedley House with our teenage sons. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable with plenty of pillows and a nice big bathroom. The location is perfect, just a short walk to the city walls. We were a little worried about the train line being so close, but it didn't bother us at all in the end. The best part though, was that the hotel accommodated our family reunion dinner for 16 people absolutely fantastically! We had the whole dining room to ourselves and the food and service was impeccable. Thanks so much Hedley House!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Wonderful three-night stay at the Hedley House Hotel, great staff, great location, good food (both dinner and breakfast) and a very nice spacious period room with lots of hot water. Everything was easy: from getting our laundry done, to checking in and checking out. Efficient and friendly (a great combination) and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestcoastMum50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £91 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing