We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel at great price!”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Hotel at great price!”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Can't fault this hotel really. Liked location as close to everything (few mins walk) but just out enough to avoid evening noise! Staff excellent. Nice brekkie. Will definitely stay again. Great value for money!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
All our rooms are of a comparable standard as set by the Visit England guidelines. Our prices are very competitive with other 3 star hotels in the area.
It is always lovely to hear our staff are friendly and that the service was good. Sean our chef cooks a great breakfast to set you up for a busy day in York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    504
    143
    46
    19
See reviews for
243
876
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

When we booked a room at the hotel we were expecting one like advertised on their website, which isn't what we got. The room was a lot smaller than we thought, although it was very clean and well decorated. The staff were very friendly and the service received was excellent, inc breakfast which was cooked to our liking. Overall a recommended hotel but personally, even given the location, a little overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We arrived around 7.00pm tired and hungry. When I asked where we could go and get a meal they suggested we eat there. They have their own chef and my husband dined on a lovely meal of pheasant while I had fish. From there its only a short walk to the city centre and all the sights. I would recommend this hotel as it covers every convenience including parking out the back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
We aim to please! Thank you for your comments. It is always great hear we are doing a good job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I booked for 9 ladies to stay for weekend 14-16th Oct '11. Only 15 mins walk from the York minster and shops. The hotel staff where very helpful and friendly and helped make our stay even more enjoyable. The hotel itself was very big inside with 5 flights of stairs! Our rooms were clean, spacious and decorated very nice with co-ordinated bedding and en-suite bathroom. The breakfast was very tasty and the staff extremely nice. We didn't take advantage of the hot tub and sauna...maybe next time! We would have preferred to have been all on the same floor instead of spread about the hotel,and a lift would have been appreciated for those of us with older legs and 4 flights of stairs! But we would all come back again without hesitation. Would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Lovely view from the top floor facing the minster......but lots of stairs as no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thank you Golden Girls!! We don't have a lift because building regs wont allow us too!! Hope to see you again soon and please mention when booking you would all like to be close together and on lower floors. We will always do our best to give you what you would like!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This hotel was a great find for our family reunion and a small private dining room added to the weekend for us. The hotel was easily in walking distance to the centre which was great for our 3 aunties (aged 76,85 & 85) and also the younger legs after climbing all 275 steps of the Minster! We ate in the hotel the first night and it, as well as the breakfasts were delicious, complimentary coffees and teas on arrival and some nibbles pre dinner were much appreciated. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet (1 double and 1 single in each twin room) and staff couldn't be faulted. If we'd known the weather was going to be so good we'd have tried the hot tub!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments!! It was our pleasure to look after you for your family reunion. Great to hear a good time was had by all. Hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed at Hedley House based on Trip Advisor and guide book recommendations, it did not disappoint. Room was comfortable and quiet with large bathroom. Were within 1/2 mile walking distance of Bootham Bar and the Minster, and back walk to Museum Gardens through neighborhood. Parking at the rear of the hotel was convenient and safe. Stored luggage in a front room so we didn't need to drag it upstairs. Breakfast was yummy and filling. York was the most interesting place we visited on our trip, and Hedley House is a good place to be based.

Room Tip: Close to the Minster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 703Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Thank you for your great feedback. A good breakfast sets you up for the day, happy to hear you enjoyed yours!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I have never slept (or tried to sleep) in a bed as uncomfortable as the one I had here. This is an overpriced joke of a hotel. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Axisofelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
It is with regret that we are responding to this feedback.
Guest comfort is the most important part of our business. Our staff would have happily changed your room or put a new bed in there had you spoken to them.
If we are not told there is a problem at the time, we cannot rectify it.
We take all guest feedback very seriously and use it pro-activley to continue to strive to the highest of standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing