We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better standard than you'd expect for a 3*”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better standard than you'd expect for a 3*”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great location - 5/10 minute walk from the centre. We had the St Olave's apartment which had a nice kitchen/diner with a door through to the large bedroom with double wardrobe, big beds and big tele!

Staff were very friendly, parking is good. Lovely place all in and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The apartments are great - the separate dining/kitchen area was very handy and it was an M&S din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whostheduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    504
    143
    46
    19
See reviews for
243
876
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Would not return to this hotel, as it is not really customer friendly. We did not feel welcome, and the price of the room was slightly above average for the size and location of the room. Although
we did not want a self-catering room, we booked it on the understanding that we would have a bed and breakfast hotel room arrangement. Alas, we and the hotel were mismatched, as we hate self-care on holiday, and the hotel is not geared to the usual needs of hotel-room guests.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms. Ours was a bit musty, and we had to kill three large spiders, two of which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
We take customer comments, review and feedback very seriously.
It is very hard for us to rectify any guests disappointments if you don't speak to us during
your stay.
It is unfortunate that you feel the hotel and yourselves was mismatched.
We pride ourselves in our high levels of customer service (see our other reviews) had we been made aware of any shortfall of expectations during your stay, we would have done our very best to ensure your visit was a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Excellent location, 5 minutes to the minster. Had an evening meal & breakfasts in the hotel which were all of excellent quality. Beds were so comfy we nearly didnt want to get up and explore York!! Cant wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you Smith family, you just can't beat a comfy bed to get you ready for lots of exploring in beautiful York!! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Good Hotel, literally 5 minutes walk to York centre. We parked the car in the Hotel car park and didn't go back to it until we left at the end of our break. Rooms clean, breakfast great and staff absolutely lovely - would stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you Oliver family, we aim to please!! The car park is great York certainly is a walking city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Lovely cute little hotel, excellent location, very friendly staff, extremely clean, excellent beds, really enjoyed stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwyjibo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you, we love our "great little hotel" too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

A B&B we called recommended the place when we said we were looking for somewhere in Central York to stay with a 10-week old baby. Hedley House not only accepted our recommendation, but also were very welcoming during our stay. The bed was comfy, the room clean and breakfast delicious, especially the homemade granola.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budnitzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
We love babies here at Hedley!! Sean our in house Chef makes fantastic granola, great to hear you enjoyed it so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My fiancee and I stayed here when we decided to take a short break in York with my parents who drove down from Scotland.

The hotel was easy to find by car and once parked the cars were left for the next few days as the hotel is 5 minutes from the City walls.

Was greeted with a friendly woman who was quick to check us in and offer us a map of the town.  We were directed to our room, which is where we became slightly dissapointed.  We were up in the gods (4th floor - no lift) and sadly it was no penthouse.  After getting to the third floor, we were met by an inconspicuous door - which let to a small set of stairs that took us up the final floor to our rooms.  Whilst quirky and certainly no problem for the younger generation, my mum and dad took their time to get to the rooms.

We did have a concern about the fire exit, as the main route out was down the stairs we had just come up.  We then had an issue with an inconsiderate guest who placed their push chair one flight down, at the inconspicuous door, which meant we couldn't open the door.  We complained on the Saturday morning, but the same happened again so we complained again.  Whilst we were assured the hotel would take care of it, it happened again and whilst I am not one who typically complains (i prefer to tut), given it was a safety issue, I ended up knocking on the guests door.

Rooms were of a reasonable size,  cleaned daily and certainly comfortable.

Aside from the remote room and the lack of staff support, we were pleased with the hotel.  I would stay again, but would certainly ask for different rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregHotel, Manager at Hedley House, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Some of our rooms are tucked away in the eves, we don't have a lift due to not being allowed one because of building regs. The bonus of the top floor rooms is the beautiful York roof top views.

We aim to please so when you visit with us again be sure to specify a room on a lower floor and we will happily book that for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Property: Hedley House
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing