We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so glad we tried hedley house hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“so glad we tried hedley house hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We have just stayed on a groupon two-night deal at Hedley House. I had read trip advisors reviews prior to visit and was looking forward to the trip. The hotel was easy to find, within walking distance of all the popular sights/visits and we had a marvellous time. The staff are extremely friendly and pleasant. The food was first class, including service. Our room was, although a little dated, spotlessly clean and the bathroom was immaculate (always a winner with me!!). I was impressed with the welcome booklet - so much information and advice. The weather was marvellous and all in all, a fab time!! Thank you for the staff of Hedley House for our great 'get-away'!!

Jeanette Mahon

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanettemahon499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    492
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
233
849
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We paid £99 for 2 people & thought the price was fair for our 2nights B & B,room was small but adequate,Staff friendly & very helpfull.Cooked breakfast was good, you cant please everyone!!!no cornflakes & this is the only cereal my hubby eats!! but im sure the staff would have sorted this if we asked,offered & given extra tea & toast.Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I chose this hotel because of the location. It's within easy walking distance of the train station and the directions that the hotel provided were excellent. It's about three blocks from one of the gates of the city and once through the gate it's only a block to the York Minster. Between the hotel and the gate is a Sainsbury Grocery which stays open late, which is great for cheap meals and drinks. There are also a couple of restaurants between the hotel and the gate, so you won't go hungry.

The hotel is a typical English row house that has been converted, though it is bigger than the ones I have stayed in in London.

Now, the rest of what I have to say may be coloured by the fact that my room was in the basement. So, when I checked in, I was given keys to the hotel (one for the front door and one for my room) and a code for the combination lock that opens the door which leads to the basement. Once through that door I was directed down carpeted stairs to a short carpeted hall, all of which smells a bit musty. My room, however, was very large and had wooden floors. Its bay window looked into a window well that had a staircase running down to it from the street. You couldn't open the door at the bottom of those stairs (or I couldn't): it was part of the bathroom. That did not stop a group of young people from pounding on that door at one in the morning the second night I was there. They had mistaken it for another room at the bottom of another window well.

Anyway, the room was big and had a large bed with a very soft mattress. The bathroom was odd: long, almost like a hallway, with a shower at one end and a bathtub with shower at the other. Whoever installed the bathroom was as talented at home renovations as, well, me. But the plumbing worked, so who cares? Great water pressure and heat.

The main room was fine except for a few things. First, while it was pretty clean, there was a huge (occupied) spider web in the corner behind the ironing board. Second, the room was dark. The lighting was insufficient for me to be able to read once it was night. I read a lot, so this was a problem. Third, the wifi was inconsistent and weak. I ended up walking down the street to a pub, The Three-Legged Mare, to use their free wifi (and drink their excellent beer). Fourth, the windows only open a crack (presumably to prevent break-ins as the room is accessible from the street) making it difficult to get much fresh air.

The staff were friendly, if a bit scattered. One night they simply forgot to make up my room. Breakfast was served in a very pleasant room on the first floor. Typical British fare: eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, etc.

Bottom line: you don't want a basement room.

Room Tip: Specify that you don't want to be in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We have just spent a weekend at Hedley House, brilliant hotel, ideal location just a 8 minute walk into the centre of York. Our room was a little on the small side but had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay again on a return visit, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

really happy with room and location,but £1.50 for a can of coke ouch

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We spent two lovely days in York ,staying at this friendly ,well run hotel.Nothing was to much trouble.
A wonderful team of staff,including a great cook!Brilliant breakfast!
6 minutes walk to the centre of York.
Well worth a stay.Friends of ours stayed to,earlier this year.
It was their Mum's 80th Birthday and the staff joined in the singing!

Room Tip: We took our dog ,which was a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 694travellerprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We booked on the recommendation of Tripadavisor site and can understand why its so well thought of, staff we great and very helpful. We had an evening meal from the set menu and could not fault it, breakfast fills you for the day, car parking at rear was a great bonus. would be first on list when we go back to York

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azabaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. Gym, 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking. Electric car charging station free for residents Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing