We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty is never acceptable”
Review of Hedley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hedley House
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

2 night stay in York. Positives were good English Breakfasts and short distance to York centre.

Negatives were, Dirty room, Dirty shower. For the first time in my life, I have never had a room that was not cleaned and set up for the next evening in my life. Went back to the room around 3PM, bed was not made, towels were not changed, trash was not emptied. told the desk clerk and she remarked that it had been checked off as being done. She went to the room with us and saw the disarray and took it upon herself to fix the room up for the evening.

Rugs in the room are filthy. Walked around with white socks for about 1 or 2 hours, and saw the dirt on the bottoms of the socks. Mildew is on the walls of the shower, the shower hose was filthy with dirt. Just needs to be wipened off once in awhile.

Breakfast was fine, English breakfast, nice dining area. Lady clerk at desk was very, very helpful as to providing information on York. Would not ever go there again..

Room Tip: Don't go here. Find another place. Pay the parking fees in the town's car parks. Hard to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jadecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of July for 2 nights. We had a room on the second floor that overlooked the rear car park. It was quite big with a large bathroom. We had a problem with the flush on the toilet and we had to wait till quite late in the day to get towels replaced but overall these are only minor problems and most definaltely did not spoil our stay.
The food was fab. We ate in both evening and really enjoyed our meals.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone and if visiting York again will deffo stay here again. Well done.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank julie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

An excellent service, friendly staff and convenient location, we enjoyed our stay at Hadley house and we highly recommend it to every one who wants to have easy access to the city center, definitely will be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Hotel was booked at last minute for short family break. Wasn't easy booking online as costings where confusing but receptionist was very good. Room was spacious for a family of 5 with a double and 3 single beds. There was a separate bath/shower room and even a kitchen with appliances. All the staff where very friendly and helpful and would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IankayW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

what an experience! 6 mins from centre,food quality and portions 5 star.(dare you to eat all courses for dinner and not waddle to your room) bedroom windows open only a little so very hot,but was speedily supplied with room fan when requested. The frontage is deceiving,looks small but big on service,friendliness and cleanliness.MUST read room booklet on services as the sense of humour is hilarious.Thankyou,Thankyou,Thankyou.

Room Tip: front overlooks rail line,but not busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

This is our 4th year coming to Hedley for our 10 day stay. Everything is great. Well done Greg and Lou for running such a great Hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly especially Mandy. We would def recommend Hedley to our famIly and friends. See you all soon
Helen & Betty Davidson

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Family Friendly Hotel, Great Breakfast! Our 4 year old son was very excited having his favourite cereal followed by a bacon butty! Pleasant 10 min walk into York by the River. Excellent value for money and lovely Manager! :) Would definately stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WirralRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £86 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hedley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing